Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

COUN 5391: Research Methods: Finding Books

This guide is for the students in COUN 5391 course in RRC.

Tips for Finding Books

Counseling information can be found in the literature of several fields of study. This can make researching counseling a little tricky. A few observations of the counseling literature to keep in mind: 

  • Find current articles and data in databases. Look at the citations used. Some may be books.
  • Journal articles contain more in-depth research and current research. It typically takes longer to publish a book. Keep that in mind for timeliness.
  • Books provide a thorough treatment of a subject, historical perspectives, and classic counseling literature.

Information on Tests and Measurements

Alkek Library has many tests and assessments available for check out, as well as test reviews available electronically.

Search for Books & More in the Library:

Use the Library Catalog to search the main collection for print resources, multimedia resources, and ebooks. The Library Catalog also provides location and availability details.

Marriage and Family Therapy National Licensing Examination Encyclopedia of Counseling: Master Review and Tutorial for the National Counselor Examination

More NCE study guides are also available in print for checkout

The Counseling department has a list of textbooks they recommend as resources to assist you in studying for the NCE. Check the Library Catalog for call numbers for each title.

Selected Education Reference Materials

Subject dictionaries, encyclopedias, and handbooks typically provide background essays, definitions, broad overviews of various topics, or other pertinent facts. The four bullets below list collections of searchable eReference titles:


Encyclopedia of Counseling

Corsini Encyclopedia of Psychology and Behavioral Science

Encyclopedia of Counseling

Handbook of School Counseling

International Encyclopedia of the Social & Behavioral Sciences

International Encyclopedia of the Social Sciences

 

Anthony Guardado, Head RRC Librarian

Anthony Guardado's picture
Anthony Guardado

OR

Contact:
Texas State University
Round Rock Campus
Avery 255A
512-716-4701