Using GIS at Your Library: Texas GIS

Here are some Texas-specific resources for geospatial data.

Central Texas GIS Data

• "CAPCOG provides vector data (e.g. point, line, or polygon) as an ESRI geodatabase and an ESRI shapefile; and raster data (e.g. orthoimagery, digital elevation models, etc) as a MrSID file."

City of Austin Planning Data

• Provides GIS maps of historic districts, land use, future land use, neighborhood planning, and more.

City of Houston Planning Data

• "The P&D Department has developed an enterprise level GIS to serve the entire City of Houston. The goal of the GIS division is to serve the geographic information system and geospatial needs of the City of Houston across departments and among all staff and citizens."

City of San Antonio GIS

• Here you can download GIS data for the San Antonio area that includes parks, viewsheds, boundaries, city hall, corridor plans, aerial imagery and more.

Digital Atlas of Texas Counties

• Here you can select a particular Texas county and recieve GIS data pertaining to that county.

Houston-Galveston Area Council - GIS Data Clearinghouse

• Provides GIS data for census boundaries, cultural features, environmental, hazards, hydrologic datasets, land features, land cover datasets, regional boundaries, statewide boundaries, transportation, and water quality datasets.

Railroad Commission of Texas

• "This geographic information system combines detailed information and location coordinates for oil wells, gas wells, and pipelines from the Commission's files with base map data captured from U.S. Geological Survey 7.5 minute quadrangle maps."

Texas Natural Resources Information System

• "TNRIS archives, maintains, and distributes the largest collection of current and historical spatial geographic data sets for the State of Texas."

Texas Commission on Environmental Quality (TCEQ)

• "See links for available TCEQ spatial data, raster data, geographic data viewers, TCEQ GIS standards, and useful GIS links."

Texas Water Development Board

• Includes GIS maps of natural features, such as major aquifers, annual precipitation, river basins, etc. and administrative boundaries of Texas.

Texas General Land Office

• Provides GIS maps of energy resources, professional services, such as coastal leases, oil spill/coastal response data, and coastal management program data.

Texas Parks and Wildlife

• Provides many shapefiles of natural features such as river basins, ecoregions, bays, parks, and borders.

United States Geological Survey - Texas

• "The U.S. Geological Survey currently operates about 688 data collection sites in Texas for acquiring information on surface-water, groundwater, water-quality, and precipitation. These sites are equipped with satellite telemetry, which provides real-time data via GOES satellites and downlinks, which enables the posting of data to the Web for public dissemination."

U.S. Fish and Wildlife Services - Geospatial Data

• Good source for regional and national data relating to habitats, ecosystem regions, bird conservation, refuges, and more.