| 1330 Assembly Processes. (2-2) Basic assembly process to include gas, arc, resistance, thermite, induction, and forge welding; weld-ability, weld metallurgy, weld symbology, and weld testing; brazing; soldering; mechanical fastening to include threaded fasteners, rivets, shrink and press fits, seams, staples, crimping, and structural adhesives. Principles of joint design and cost estimation. An overview of electronics assembly processes and automated assembly. |
| 1363 Manufacturing Processes I. (2-3) The course will provide an overview of the manufacturing processes. Major emphasis is placed on machining theory, setup and tooling. Metal forming and fabrication procedures are introduced. Joining and assembly includes welding, mechanical fastening, adhesive bonding and surface finishing concepts. Laboratory demonstrations and tutorials involve machining, joining and forming techniques. |
| 1393 Manufacturing Processes II. (2-3) The course involves the fundamentals of casting and molding processes. Emphasis is placed on casting terminology, molding sand, molding processes, pattern making, coremaking and quality control. Ferrous and non-ferrous alloy composition and casting geometry are explored. Plastic and composite forming concepts are included. Microelectronic manufacturing principles and processes are introduced. Prerequisite: TECH 1363. |
| 2190 Industrial Internship. (0-40) This course is a supervised experiential learning course in various technical disciplines as appropriate to a student’s degree program. This work integrated learning course helps the student link theory with practice. Repeatable for credit. Prerequisites: 45 hours completed with at least 12 having been completed at Texas State and a minimum major GPA of 2.25. |
| 2310 Introduction to Computer-Aided Design (CAD) (3-3) Principles of 3D modeling are introduced in the preparation of drawings for manufacturing processes. Emphasis includes the parametric solid modeling of machine elements and geometric dimensioning and tolerancing. The laboratory component involves production of engineering drawings and simulations connecting this course to computer-aided engineering. Prerequisite: ENGR 1313 or Instructor’s Approval. |
| 2330 Fundamentals of Material Removal. (3-0) An overview of the micro and macro structure of materials is studied. Assessment of materials with regard to their chemical and mechanical properties and how these properties relate to machining is explored. Machining conditions with regard to feed, speed, surface finish, tooling requirements, horsepower capabilities, time, and cost analysis complete the class. Prerequisite: MATH 1315. |
| 2344 Power Technology. (2-2) This class deals with understanding the basic laws of thermodynamics. It probes the issues of efficiency and examines energy-converting devices from the inputs, processes, outputs model. Internal combustion engines, electric motors, hydraulic systems, pneumatic systems, wind electric systems, solar energy systems and gearing systems. Fuel analysis, lubricants and friction all comprise essential topics. Prerequisite: MATH 1315 and PHYS 1315/1115 or 1410 or PHYS 1430. |
| 2351 Statics and Strength of Materials. (3-0) Course covers principles of statics and strength of materials to include forces, equilibrium, friction, centroids, and stress/strain relationships, axial stress and deformation, thermal stress and deformation, stress concentrations, factor of safety, torsional stress, beam stresses and combined stress. Prerequisites: TECH 2342 or ENGR 2300 and PHYS 1315/1115 or 1410 or 1430 with grades of C or higher. |
| 2370 (ENGR 2305) Electricity/Electronics Fundamentals. (2-2) Fundamentals of safety, Ohm’s Law, series, parallel, and series-parallel circuits, meters, relays, and basic transistor circuits. |
| 3322 Development of Technology. (3-0) The role of technology in the development of Western World culture is studied from a technical perspective. Social repercussions resulting from the introduction of foundational technical developments are reviewed. Examples of technical areas examined are agriculture, transportation, manufacturing, engineering, defense, and communications. Readings focus discussions and papers on specific topics and encourage synthesis level understanding. (WI)(MC) |
| 3344 Applied Thermofluids. (3-0) Basic concepts, first and second laws of thermodynamics, thermodynamic properties, heat transfer by conduction, connection and radiation, fluid statics and fluid dynamics are studied. Prerequisites: TECH 2344 and PHYS 1430. |
| 3345 Principles of Lean Systems. (3-0) The course provides an in-depth understanding of the lean principles as they apply to manufacturing and service organizations with emphasis on lean tools and concepts such as Value Stream Mapping, 5S, kaizen, waste, takt/cycle time, visual control, six-sigma, mistake proofing, single piece flow, cell design and pull systems. Prerequisite: TECH 3364. |
| 3357 Facilities Planning and Design. (3-0) This project-based course provides students with a practical knowledge of designing efficient facility layout and material handling system. Systematic layout planning (SLP) based on a product and process information is studied in depth. Simulation tools are used for flow analysis. Prerequisities: TECH 2310. |
| 3373 Communication Systems. (3-0) This course deals with basic principles of communication systems. Specific topics include analysis of signals and systems, modulation techniques (digital and analog), analysis of transmitters and receivers, networking, and wireless communication systems. Prerequisites: TECH 2370 or EE 2400. |
| 3364 Quality Assurance. (3-0) This course covers the principles of quality management to include basic probability and statistics concepts, control charts for attributes and variables, sampling plans, quality audits and costs. The laboratory component of this class includes exercises that provide exposure to basic metrology and data collection. |
| 3370 Electronics. (2-2) A study of the characteristics of basic electronic circuits and their component parts. Course content includes the use of electronic test equipment, inductance, capacitance, reactance, impedance, rectification, switching, amplification, and electronic circuit fabrication. Prerequisite: TECH 2370 or EE 2400. |
| 4197 Special Problems. (1-0) The investigation of a special topic by developing the problem, researching the topic, and presenting the findings as they apply to industry/technology. This course will be applicable to all areas of technology, and must be done only with the approval of the cooperating faculty member and Department Chair. Repeatable for credit with different emphasis. |
| 4330 Foundry & Heat Treatment. (3-3) The technical aspects of foundry and heat treatment of ferrous and non-ferrous metals are reviewed. Students gain proficiency with interpretation of binary phase diagrams, mathematical modeling of gate and runner systems, micro-structural analysis, process cost evaluation, sand testing, investment casting and other technical processes. Prerequisites: TECH 2310, ENGR 2300 and TECH 2351 or MFGE 2332 or Instructor’s Approval. (WI) |
| 4345 Principles of Lean Systems. (3-0) The course provides an in-depth understanding of the lean principles as they apply to manufacturing and service organizations. with emphasis on lean tools and concepts such as Value Stream Mapping, 5S, kaizen, waste, takt/cycle time, visual control, six-sigma, mistake proofing, single piece flow, cell design and pull systems. Prerequisites: TECH 3364. |
| 4362 Manufacturing Process Engineering. (1-3) This course will provide students with fundamentals of manufacturing processes engineering. Major emphasis will be placed on make-buy analysis, tolerance analysis and dimensional control, tool design, process and material selection, manufacturabilityanalysis, and process planning. Prerequisites: TECH 1393 and TECH 2310. |
| 4365 Machine Elements: Dynamics and Design. (3-0) Principles of the design of mechanical components; theories of failure; material selection; design of shafts, gears, cams, fasteners, springs and brakes; dynamics; balancing of machinery and vibration control are studied . Prerequisites: TECH 2310 and TECH 2351. |
| 4367 Polymer Properties and Processing. (3-1) Structure, physical & mechanical properties, design considerations and processing methods for polymer-based materials are presented. Processing methods include: injection molding, blow molding, thermoforming, compression molding, extrusion, filament winding, lay-up methods, vacuum bag molding and poltrusion. Prerequisite: ENGR 2300. |
| 4372 Electronic Devices and Circuits. (2-2) Transistor configurations, field effect transistors and circuits, voltage regulation, amplifier feedback principles, operational amplifiers and circuitry, and unijunction transistors and applications. Prerequisite: TECH 2370 or EE 2400. |
| 4373 Control Systems and Instrumentation. (2-2) A study of control systems, electrical switching, electrical generation, motors, wiring, illumination, and temperature controls as they apply to industry. Electronic product development and manufacturing are studied through classroom and laboratory activities. Prerequisite: TECH 2370 or EE 2400. |
| 4374 Digital Systems. (2-2) Solid state digital electronics from basic concepts to current industrial needs in terms of logic gates (all types), number systems counters (all types), registers (all types), sequential control circuits, and shift register generator. Prerequisite: TECH 2370 or PHYS 2425. |
| 4380 Industrial Safety. (3-0) Introduction to the field of industrial safety with emphasis on compliance with Federal and State regulations. Prerequisite: Junior standing. (WI) |
| 4383 Driver and Traffic Safety Education I. (3-0) Content, methods, and materials for instruction in the classroom phase of driver education in Texas. Topics include Texas traffic law; Texas Education Agency standards for high school driver education; driver behavior, attitude, and psychomotor skills; and safety in the highway transportation system. |
| 4385 Driver and Traffic Safety Education II. (3-3) Content, methods and materials for instruction in the laboratory phase of driver education in Texas. Topics include in-car instruction, multi-car range, and simulation. During laboratory sessions participants will observe in-car instructors, peer teach in the car, and teach a high school student how to drive. TECH 4383 and 4385 will be taken simultaneously. Prerequisites: TECH 4383 and a good driving record. |
| 4387 Motorcycle Safety and Rider Education. (3-3) Techniques and methods of teaching beginner rider education. Includes classroom techniques as well as laboratory experience in on-street and off-street riding. Not applicable to the BS in Technology program. |
| 4390 Internship. (0-40) Supervised on-the-job professional learning experience in construction, manufacturing, electronics, and other technical areas. This course provides practical work experience in their particular field of interest. Repeatable for credit. Prerequisites: Consult internship coordinator. (WI) |
| 4391 Manufacturing Processes II. (1-3) Involves a wide variety of advanced manufacturing techniques. Included are the following areas: differential indexing, electrical discharge machining, precision grinding, specialized thread cutting, high energy rate forming, tool grinding, tool behavior analysis, tool cost evaluation, and numerical control programming. An emphasis may be placed on certain processes mentioned above in order to meet the specific needs of various classes. Prerequisites: TECH 2330, 4362; MATH 1315. |
| 4392 Micro and Nano Manufacturing. (3-0) This class will cover the basic principles and techniques involved in micro and nano manufacturing. Emphasis will be placed on the process descriptions, terminology, equipment requirements, and processes for micro and nanosystems. Basic physics and process chemistry will be combined with control schemes to arrive at overall systems descriptions. Prerequisites: CHEM 1141 and CHEM 1341 and PHYS 1325 or PHYS 1420 or PHYS 2425. |
| 4393 Driver and Traffic Safety Education III. (3-3) Content, procedures, and administration of multi-phase driver education programs. Topics include scheduling, maintenance and operation of laboratory equipment, record keeping, lesson plan development, and driver education for the handicapped. Practicum in classroom and/or simulation instruction. Not applicable to the Bachelor of Science in Technology degree program. Prerequisite: TECH 4383, 4385, and TECH 4393 may be taken simultaneously. |
| 4394 Microelectronics Manufacturing II. (3-0) This is an intermediate level course in integrated circuit processing. Topics covered include: atomic models for diffusion, oxidation and ion implantation; topics related to thin film processes such as chemical vapor deposition, physical vapor deposition; planarization by chemical-mechanical polishing and rapid thermal processing; and process integration for bipolar and MOS device fabrication. Students will design processes and model them using a simulation tool such as SUPREM. |
| 4395 Automated Manufacturing Systems I. (2-2) This course primarily deals with automation in industrial systems. In particular, this course focuses on automation and control technologies in manufacturing systems at machine and device levels. Included in its structure are areas such as fundamentals of industrial automation, sensors and actuators, numerical control, robotics, and PLC. Prerequisites: TECH 1393 and TECH 2310 or TECH 4373. |
| 4396 Automated Manufacturing Systems II. (3-3) This course primarily deals with automation in industrial systems. In particular, this course focuses on automation and control technologies at a system level. This course includes topics such as simulation of manufacturing systems, flexible manufacturing systems, automated quality control, automated identification, and automated material handling. Prerequisites: TECH 4395. |
| 4397 Special Problems. (3-0) The investigation of a special topic by developing the problem, researching the topic, and presenting the findings as they apply to industry/technology. This course will be applicable to all areas of technology, and must be done only with the approval of the cooperating faculty member and Department Chair. Repeatable for credit with different emphasis. |
| 4398 Senior Design. (2-2) This course deals with application of technical and non-technical skills and knowledge using a multidisciplinary team-based approach for solving real-world problems related to product and process development. The topics include systematic product development, development of business plans, project management, cost estimation, documentation and presentation, prototyping, fabrication and concurrent engineering. Prerequisites: TECH 4395 or TECH 4372 or EE 3400 or GEO 4313. (WI) |
| 4399 Seminar in Technology. (3-0) The topics for this course will vary. The course will involve the identification of the topic, its nomenclature, its processes, tools, equipment or materials, and its application to technology. The topic may apply to either the certification program or technology program or to both. A final report summary or presentation will conclude each seminar. Repeatable for credit with different emphasis. |