| Google Scholar
Google Scholar can be a useful tool when collecting research information. Settings can be updated to display:
Library Links - FindIt@Txstate
Bibliography Manager - EndNote (refers to Desktop EndNote)
- Ulrich'sTo find out if a journal is considered Refereed/Peer-Reviewed, check the Ulrich's database by doing a search for the title of the journal. Many library databases allow searches to be limited to articles published in Peer-Reviewed journals.
This is a browser extension - if you find an article on the web, it will bring you to the full-text through TXST Libraries. This tool can also help with alerting you to journals considered "Problematic" (potentially predatory).
Search Tips
Search by keywords/phrases and use Boolean searching. What's Boolean?
AND: pornography AND couples
OR: porn* OR "sexually explicit material*"
Using "Quotation Marks" searches words as a phrase.
Limit search results by Date and Peer-Reviewed journals.
Truncation searches variations of a word. The symbol used is asterisk *.
COUNSEL* will retrieve: counsel, counseling, counselor, counselors, etc.
Check Subject terms to see if there are any synonym terms to consider.
Searching for Full Text
If you come across a citation to an article and you'd like to track down its full text, follow the steps below:
- Start Your Research (SYR)1. When searching for the full text of an article, start by searching the "title of an article" (enclosed in "quotation marks") in SYR.
- Periodical List (PL)2. If you're unable to locate the fulltext by searching the article title in SYR, next try searching the "journal title" in PL, which is a searchable list of print/online journals accessible through the University Libraries.
Periodical List: Enter "Journal Title"
- Interlibrary Loan (ILL)3. If the Library does not have print/online access to a journal you need an article from, request a copy of the article via ILL.
The example below shows that The Journal of Continuing Higher Education is accessible in print/microform as well as online. The entry also shows coverage dates to indicate which years are accessible.
