Search Tips
Search by keywords/phrases and use Boolean searching.
AND: "bilingual education" AND policy
OR: "culturally relevant pedagogy" OR "culturally relevant curriculum"
Using "Quotation Marks" searches words as a phrase.
Limit search results by Date and Peer-Reviewed journals.
Truncation searches variations of a word. The symbol used is asterisk *.
bilingual* will retrieve: bilingual, bilingualism, bilingual education, etc.
Check Subject terms to see if there are any synonym terms to consider.
Databases
Start Your Research will search the two education databases, ERIC and Education Source, along with other related databases in Education and related disciplines.
- Children's Literature Comprehensive DatabaseReviews for atlases, biographies, encyclopedias, baby board books, fantasy, folklore, history, horror, mystery, poetry, science, & sports books for preK-12 through young adult, professionals or parents. Search by: reading level; genre; language; age; grade level; title; author; illustrator; series; publisher; publication date; ISBN; subject headings
- Picture Book DatabaseBibliographic information for 20,000 records of picture storybooks, beginning readers, and graphic formats. Find books by: artistic media and style; character traits; literary devices; literacy tie-ins; genres; narrative formats; series; characters' country of origin; age ranges
- TeachingBooks.netReading Education. This database includes instructional materials and enrichment for K-12 reading and library activities. Resources include streaming author interviews, book readings, author websites and blogs, video book trailers, ready-to-use evaluated lesson plans and book discussion guides.
- Diverse BookFinderThe Diverse BookFinder is a comprehensive collection of children's picture books featuring Black and Indigenous people and People of Color (BIPOC). We've cataloged and analyzed trade picture books fitting this criteria, published since 2002.
Google Scholar
Google Scholar can be a useful tool when collecting research information. Settings can be updated to display:
Library Links - FindIt@Txstate
Bibliography Manager - EndNote (for Desktop EndNote)
***For EndNote Web, under Downloads, use Capture Reference.
- Ulrich'sTo find out if a journal is considered Refereed/Peer-Reviewed , check the Ulrich's database by doing a search for the title of the journal. Many library research databases accessible allow searches to be limited to articles published in Peer-Reviewed journals.