Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

LS 5370: Advanced Legal Research & Writing: Finding Articles

This guide was created for Dr. Walter Wright's LS 5370 class.

Searching for Articles

Your professors will want you to use high-quality sources for your projects.  Scholarly, peer-reviewed articles are excellent sources.  Peer-reviewed means that experts in that field reviewed the articles before publication to check for such things as good methodology, relevancy, and impact to the field.  Many of our databases let you check a box to limit the results to peer-reviewed articles.

If you searched for articles on the internet, you will most likely be asked to pay $35+ per article.  However, you can access these for free through our library website!  We subscribe to over 90,000 scholarly journals.

Start Your Research is a search box in the middle of the library website that searched many (but not all!) of our databases.  It also searches our library catalog.  This is a really good option for a multidisciplinary topic.  For example, if you are researching a climatological phenomenon's impact on health, you may find results not only from climatology journals, but also health journals.

In addition, we have a Research Databases page that has organized our 600+ databases by title, subject, and type. 

Start Your Research

Once you do a search, you can filter the results by options on the left side of the page.  Filter options include full text, peer-reviewed, a specific date range, and material type.

Research Databases

Research Databases Research databases are mostly collections of scholarly journal articles, but some are not. Some contain newspaper articles, datasets, etc. We have organized the databases by title, by subject, and by type.

Databases

Periodicals List