Quick Links
- Recommend a PurchaseRequest materials to be purchased for the library's collection.
Other Useful Guides
Great Database for Encyclopedias/Reference Books
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new windowOver 600 reference books, including encyclopedias, dictionaries (English and foreign language), thesauri, books of quotations, as well as a range of subject-specific reference books.
Definitions
Library Catalog: The catalog lists all materials accessible via Texas State University libraries, such as books, kits, models, games, DVDs, etc. It also has ebooks and streaming video and audio. It does not have any articles. The catalog will show you the location of the item, the call number, and if it is available or not.
Research Databases: These databases are mostly collections of scholarly journal articles, but some are not. Some contain newspaper articles, datasets, etc. We have organized the databases by title, by subject, and by type.
Peer-Reviewed Articles: These are articles that have been reviewed for publication in scholarly journals by experts in the field. It is a level of quality control. Most of our databases have a checkbox that lets you limit the result to only peer-reviewed journals.
Periodical List: This is a list of all of the periodicals that library subscribes to. Periodicals means that it is published periodically, such as four times a year, once a month, daily, etc. You can search for the title of a magazine, journal, or newspaper and find all of the databases it is in. Be sure to look at the dates available.
Ask-A-Librarian: Librarians are here to answer your questions. For every major, there is a librarian assigned to that major. On the library homepage, there is a link where you can chat with a librarian, email, or make a research consultation appointment.
Helpful Technology Tools
Before you begin the search for literature to use in your lit review, take the time to learn about and utilize these technology tools that will help make conducting your literature review much smoother.
This is a browser extension that facilitates access to the TXST Libraries' full text resources as you find research on the web. LibKey Nomad provides one-click access to full text from websites, databases, publisher pages, and even Wikipedia.
This is a mobile device app which allows easy access to journals through TXST Libraries. It is an easy way to keep tabs on your favorite journals applicable to your field of study and more...
Use the above link to access the TXST instance of Google Scholar which will allow you to escape paywalls and find scholarly literature and other materials to support your research.
