| Google Scholar
Google Scholar can be a useful tool when collecting research information. Settings can be updated to display:
Library Links - FindIt@Txstate
Bibliography Manager - EndNote (refers to Desktop EndNote)
- Ulrich'sTo find out if a journal is considered Refereed/Peer-Reviewed, check the Ulrich's database by doing a search for the title of the journal. Many library databases allow searches to be limited to articles published in Peer-Reviewed journals.
This is a browser extension - if you find an article on the web, it will bring you to the full-text through TXST Libraries. This tool can also help with alerting you to journals considered "Problematic" (potentially predatory).
Search Tips
Search by keywords and small phrases.
Maximize your keyword searches with Boolean searching. What's Boolean?
AND: counsel* AND "cultural* sensitiv*"
OR: teenagers OR youth
NOT
Use "quotation marks" to search for whole phrases.
Use the database’s built in limiting features. Some databases have a filter for full-text or scholarly journals.
Consider truncation. The symbol used is usually *.
COUNSEL* will retrieve:
counsel, counseling, counselling, counselor, etc.
Check Subject terms to see if there are any synonym terms to consider.
Searching for Full Text
If you come across a citation to an article and you'd like to track down its full text, follow the steps below:
- Start Your Research (SYR)1. When searching for the full text of an article, start by searching the "title of an article" (enclosed in "quotation marks") in SYR.
Wesley-Nero, S., & Davis, D. (2024). Integrated Professional Learning: Boundary-spanning graduate leadership education with principals and district leaders. Journal of Educational Leadership & Policy Studies, 8, 1–24.
- Journals/Periodicals2. If you're unable to locate the fulltext by searching the article title in SYR, next try searching the "journal title" in Journals/Periodicals, which is a searchable list of print/online journals accessible through the University Libraries.
- Interlibrary Loan (ILL)3. If the Library does not have print/online access to a journal you need an article from, request a copy of the article via ILL.