What is Government Information all about?
The Alkek Library Government Information unit is a federal and state depository library for government documents and information. The depository collection consists of U.S. government and State of Texas documents, including books, serials, and maps. This large collection includes items in print, electronic, and microfiche formats.
For further information
We have a very friendly and knowledgeable staff in Governmenet Information.
They will be happy to help you find out more about the wonderful resources available in the collection.
Please see their guide to Government Information for further details and contact information.
First stops
Try these databases first for government information resources.
- Catalog of U.S. Government Publications This link opens in a new windowA finding tool for federal publications that includes descriptive information for historical and current publications as well as direct links to the full document. 1976 to present.
- govinfo This link opens in a new window
Provides free online full text access to official and final versions of U.S. Federal Government publications from the Executive, Legislative, and Judicial branches, the Congressional Record, Federal Register, United States Code (USCS) and more. 1793 to present.
- HathiTrust Digital Library This link opens in a new window
A digital collective of books and journals from numerous academic and research libraries around the world.
- Congressional Publications (ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowLegislative histories, bills & laws, voting records, Congressional Record archive, hearings, House & Senate reports, Serial Set & Maps. 1789 to present.
- Legislative & Executive Reports This link opens in a new windowReports, documents, and maps either produced or ordered by Congress, as well as presidential communications and treaty materials. 1789 to present.
Additional databases
For additional government research, try one of these sources.
- Law & Government DatabasesMore than thirty different databases are available in this list of law and government resources.
- Political ScienceMore than thirty databases are available in this list of political science resources.
