Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Code of Federal Regulations (CFR): Searching C.F.R. Online

How to use Code of Federal Regulations and the Federal Register

Searching C.F.R. Online

Introduction

FDSys contains the full text of the current CFR as well as historical text of the CFR going back to 1996. It can be searched by keyword, citation, or can be browsed by title.


GOVINFO Database Click Through Search

 

1. From the GovInfo homepage, select "Code of Federal Regulations."


2. From the drop-down menu, select the pertinent year, and select "Go."


3. FDSys will populate the appropriate edition. Each Title is expandable in the following order: Title < Chapter < Subchapter < Part < Section. 

Note: Every component of a CFR reference is downloadable in PDF, Text, & XML.

Introduction:

The Electronic Code of Federal Regulations (e-CFR) is a currently updated version of the CFR. It, however, is not an official legal edition of the CFR. The e-CFR is a compilation of both current CFR material and Federal Register amendments produced by the National Archives and Records Administration's Office of the Federal register (OFR) and the Government Printing Office (GPO).


e-CFR Click-Through Instructions

1. From the e-CFR homepage, you can select from the drown-down menu the pertinent Title Section.

Note: The current update status and date will be shown on the e-CFR homepage. 


2. Once you select a Title Section, the e-CFR will display a "structured" view of the entire Title, including Volumes, Chapters, Parts, and a notation of the regulatory entity responsible for each Part. 


3. Once you select a a range of Parts to browse, the e-CFR will display an "outline" view of the selected parts


4. If you select a Section, e-CFR will display the pertinent text of the regulatory.

Introduction:

Westlaw provides the full text of all adopted rules and regulations in the CFR in its Code of Federal Regulations database.


Westlaw Academic is available via the databases page from the library website 

 


1. After logging in, select the "Federal Materials" tab on the Westlaw Homepage. Next, select the "Code of Federal Regulations (CFR)" link.


2. Westlaw will populate a list-format display of all existing CFR. 


3. After you select the appropriate Title, Westlaw will populate an "outline" view for the Title, including all Chapters, Subchapters, Parts, and Sections.


4. Navigate the list until you find the pertinent regulation. As always, Westlaw provides added content for each regulation, including Notes on Decisions, History, Citing Reference, and Context and Analysis. 


5. The bottom of each Section page displays the Credit Note and Notes on Decision, as well as a "Current Through" citation with a respective citation to the Federal Register.


Westlaw Natural Language & Boolean Terms & Connectors Search

Users can browse the CFR by title, or search for regulations using a “Terms and Connectors” or “Natural Language” search. If you Search for the "Code of Federal Regulation" in the "Search Bar," Westlaw will populate a list-format display of all existing CFR as seen in Step 3 above.