Selected Reference Materials
This is a small selection of books, some of which are eBooks and others can be checked out, that may be applicable to your research.
ASME Engineer's Data Book by
Intended for practicing mechanical engineers, this reference reviews basic engineering mathematics, units of measure and conversion, mechanical tolerances, mechanics, material failure limits, thermodynamics, machine components, production tools, and welding processes.
Call Number: TJ151 .M392 2005ISBN: 9780791802298Publication Date: 2005-03-01
Guide to Information Sources in Engineering by
The only source that focuses exclusively on engineering and technology, this important guide maps the dynamic and changing field of information sources published for engineers in recent years. Lord highlights basic perspectives, access tools, and English-language resources--directories, encyclopedias, yearbooks, dictionaries, databases, indexes, libraries, buyer's guides, Internet resources, and more. Substantial emphasis is placed on digital resources. The author also discusses how engineers and scientists use information, the culture and generation of scientific information, different types of engineering information, and the tools and resources you need to locate and access that material. Other sections describe regulations, standards and specifications, government resources, professional and trade associations, and education and career resources. Engineers, scientists, librarians, and other information professionals working with engineering and technology information will welcome this research
Call Number: View onlineISBN: 9780313009433Publication Date: 2000-08-15- Handbook of Electrical Engineering Calculations by 1. Electric Power Engineering / Arun G. Phadke -- 2. Electromagnetics / Edmund K. Miller -- 3. Algorithms Used in Signal Analysis / Hugh F. VanLandingham -- 4. Communication Systems / Timothy Pratt -- 5. Algorithms Used in Control Systems / Hugh F. VanLandingham -- 6. Computer Engineering / Peter Athanas and Yosef Tirat-Gefen.Call Number: View onlineISBN: 9780585110097Publication Date: 1999-04-16
McGraw-Hill's Engineering Companion by
If YOU COULD BUY ONLY ONE DESKTOP REFERENCE- THIS WOULD BE IT Here are the tables, formulas, charts, diagrams, figures, key methods and worked-out problems engineers in design, product development, operation, production, analysis, and economic evaluation must have for successful day-to-day problem solving. This dynamic one-volume database provides reliable, ready-to-apply solutions to literally hundreds of engineering problems - formatted for convenient instant access and carefully culled from McGraw-Hill's most popular and respected handbooks, textbooks, and specialized technical books. McGraw-Hill's Engineering Companion contains sections on the basics of engineering science and key methods and tools in every branch of engineering: * mechanical engineering * civil engineering * electrical engineering * electronic engineering * metallurgical engineering * architectural and building engineering * bioengineeringeng * and more Covering all major engineering fields and extensively updated for maximum usability, this is the perfect working tool for today's new breed of engineer.
Call Number: View onlineISBN: 9780071416894Publication Date: 2003-01-01
McGraw-Hill Dictionary of Engineering
Derived from the content of the respected McGraw-Hill Dictionary of Scientific and Technical Terms, Sixth Edition, each title provides thousands of definitions of words and phrases encountered in a specific discipline. All include: * Pronunciation guide for every term * Acronyms, cross-references, and abbreviations * Appendices with conversion tables; listings of scientific, technical, and mathematical notation; tables of relevant data; and more * A convenient, quick-find format
Call Number: View onlineISBN: 9780071417990Publication Date: 2003-01-01
Technical Writing by
Technical Writing: A Practical Guide for Engineers, Scientists, and Nontechnical Professionals, Second Edition enables readers to write, edit, and publish materials of a technical nature, including books, articles, reports, and electronic media. Written by a renowned engineer and widely published technical author, this guide complements traditional writer's reference manuals on technical writing through presentation of first-hand examples that help readers understand practical considerations in writing and producing technical content. These examples illustrate how a publication originates as well as various challenges and solutions. The second edition contains new material in every chapter including new topics, additional examples, insights, tips and tricks, new vignettes and more exercises. Appendices have been added for writing checklists and writing samples. The references and glossary have been updated and expanded.　 In addition, a focus on writing for the nontechnical persons working in the technology world and the nonnative English speaker has been incorporated. Written in an informal, conversational style, unlike traditional college writing texts, the book also contains many interesting vignettes and personal stories　to add interest to　otherwise stodgy lessons.
Call Number: View OnlineISBN: 9780429884498Publication Date: 2018-07-27
Wiley Encyclopedia of Electrical and Electronics Engineering by
This 24 volume set offers comprehensive coverage of the electrical and electronics engineering field. Covers wide range of information from power systems and communications to advanced applications in neural networks and robotics.
Call Number: TK9 .E53 1999ISBN: 9780471139461Publication Date: 1999-03-25
A Writer's Handbook for Engineers by
This handbook covers numerous types of common writing projects likely to be found in a career as an engineering student or a practicing engineer. Support is given in document-development efforts by a useful variety of tools to plan, develop, format and finalize engineering writing projects. Plenty of examples from engineering fields and disciplines are given, specializing the content to engineering students while still covering the basic mechanics of writing with a wide range of writing-related topics.
Call Number: T11 .M3685 2008ISBN: 9780495244820Publication Date: 2007-11-16
Interlibrary Loan
- Interlibrary Loan (ILL)ILL is a free lending service available to current Texas State students and employees. ILL borrows items from other libraries that Alkek Library does not own such as journal articles, books, DVDs, CDs—anything you might need for your research.
Use ILLiad, the online Interlibrary Loan request, to order your ILL items. Enter as much information as you know about the item you need, and the ILL staff will try to track it down.
Contact & Pick-up Info: 512.245.4893 or email with additional questions. Items can be picked up at the Ask Alkek Desk on the 2nd floor of the Library.
Other Catalogs
Google Books - Discover thousands of book titles here and see if we own them (note: Google Books does not let you read entire books)
Texshare - Check out a book from almost anywhere in Texas with one of these cards. Click for information.
Worldcat Searches thousands of libraries - built-in interlibrary loan request button allows you to get material we don't own.