Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Using Reference Materials
Reference materials can be used when you are starting your research to get background information.
Encyclopedias and dictionaries are great for giving you keywords that you can use when you start searching for articles on your topic in the library databases or on the web.
Anthropology Reference Material
The selective list of resources below are primarily encyclopedias, dictionaries, and broad overviews of anthropology or the subfields, including cultural, physical, linguistic anthropology, and archaeology. The titles link to information about where to find the items in Alkek Library. Some links are to eBooks and may prompt you for your Tx State ID.
- Companion Encyclopedia of Archaeology — eBook
- The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Archaeology — eBook
- Countries and Their Cultures — eBook
- The Dictionary of Anthropology — eBook
- Dictionary of Concepts in Archaeology — Ref CC70 .M45
- Dictionary of Concepts in Cultural Anthropology — Ref GN307 .W56
- Encyclopedia of Archaeology: History and Discoveries — Ref CC100 .E54
- Encyclopedia of Anthropology — eBook
- Encyclopedia of Social and Cultural Anthropology — eBook
- Encyclopedia of Cultural Anthropology — Ref GN307 .E52 1996 v.1 - 4
- Encyclopedia of Prehistory — Ref GN710 .E53
- International Encyclopedia of Linguistics — eBook
- International Encyclopedia of the Social & Behavioral Sciences — eBook
- International Encyclopedia of the Social Sciences — eBook
- The Oxford Companion to Archaeology — eBook
- Social and Cultural Anthropology: The Key Concepts — eBook