| Google Scholar
Google Scholar can be a useful tool when collecting research information. Settings can be updated to display:
Library Links - FindIt@Txstate
Bibliography Manager - EndNote (refers to Desktop EndNote)
-
Ulrich'sTo find out if a journal is considered Refereed/Peer-Reviewed, check the Ulrich's database by doing a search for the title of the journal. Many library databases allow searches to be limited to articles published in Peer-Reviewed journals.
This is a browser extension - if you find an article on the web, it will bring you to the full-text through TXST Libraries.
Keyword Search Tips
Search by keywords/phrases and use Boolean searching:
AND: teen* AND "mental health"
OR: "mental health" OR "psychological health"
Using "Quotation Marks" searches words as a phrase, "young adult".
Limit search results by Date and Peer-Reviewed journals.
Truncation searches variations of a word. The symbol used is asterisk *.
DISAB* will retrieve: disabled, disabilities, disability, etc.
Check Subject terms to see if there are any synonym terms to consider.
Searching for Full Text
If you come across a citation to an article and you'd like to track down its full text, follow the steps below:
-
Start Your Research (SYR)1. When searching for the full text of an article, start by searching the "title of an article" (enclosed in "quotation marks") in SYR.
Example Citation: Choi, M., Lee, S.-Y., Kim, J., & Lee, J. (2024). The interaction of race/ethnicity and school-connectedness in presenting internalizing and externalizing behaviors among adolescents. Children and Youth Services Review, 161.
-
Journals/Periodicals2. If you're unable to locate the fulltext by searching the article title in SYR, next try searching the "journal title" in Journals/Periodicals, which is a searchable list of print/online journals accessible through the University Libraries.
Example Citation: Choi, M., Lee, S.-Y., Kim, J., & Lee, J. (2024). The interaction of race/ethnicity and school-connectedness in presenting internalizing and externalizing behaviors among adolescents. Children and Youth Services Review, 161.
-
Interlibrary Loan (ILL)3. If the Library does not have print/online access to a journal you need an article from, request a copy of the article via ILL.
LibKey Nomad is a browser plug-in you can download. If you find an article on the web, it will connect you to the full-text through TXST Libraries if we have access.