LibGuides: Research Experience for Undergraduates in Computer Science: Suggested Databases

Articles/Databases

Databases are where we index journals, allowing them to all be searchable at once by keyword and subject, and allowing you to use limiters (like "published in the last year", or "peer-reviewed only").

When are articles and databases most important for your research?

You want a variety of viewpoints on your topic
You need the most current information
You want to follow research forward and backward in time to see how it has progressed
- (Use citations to do this - ask your librarian for help!)

Other Important Databases

Web of Science

Web of Science is an extremely useful database for literature reviews. It gives information like times an article has been cited, and by whom.

CiteSeer

CiteSeer also serves as a citation index showing who has cited whom.

Dissertations & Theses

Dissertations & Theses contains citations for dissertations & theses from 1861 to the present. Titles published since 1997 are available for download in PDF format.

Digital Collections @TxState

Digital Collections @TxState contains full text dissertations, theses, pre-prints, post-prints, datasets, journals, conference papers, reports, presentations from Texas State University.

Selected Databases

This is a selected list of databases--for the full list see the Computer Science database list.

ACM Digital Library
Publications of the Association for Computing Machinery (ACM) and affiliated organizations. Some publications from 1954 to present. Full text for ACM journals. Transactions, proceedings, oral history interviews & newsletters.
Applied Science & Technology Source
Acoustics, Aeronautics, Applied Mathematics, Artificial Intelligence, Atmospheric Sciences, Automatic Control, Automotive Engineering, Chemical Engineering, Chemistry, Civil Engineering, Communication & Information Technology, Computer Databases & Software, Construction, Electrical & Electronic Engineering, Engineering & Biomedical Materials, Energy Resources & Research, Environmental Engineering, Fire & Fire Prevention, Food & Food Industry, Geology, Industrial Engineering, Machine Learning, Machinery, Marine Technology, Mechanical Engineering, Metallurgy, Mineralogy, Mining Engineering, Neural Networks, Nuclear Engineering, Oceanography, Optical & Neural Computing, Petroleum & Gas, Physics, Plastics, Robotics, Solid State Technology, Space Science, Textile Industry & Fabrics, Transportation, Waste Management, Other Industrial & Mechanical Arts. Contains the complete content of Industrial Arts Index (1913-1957) and Applied Science & Technology Index (1958-1983)
arxiv.org
Physics, mathematics, non-linear science, computer science, & quantitative biology.
Computer Source
Information & current trends in high technology. Computer science, programming, artificial intelligence, cybernetics, information systems, robotics, & software.
Engineering Village 2
Access Compendex (the electronic version of Engineering Index), INSPEC, GeoRef and GeoBase.
IEEE Xplore
Approximately a third of the world's current electrical engineering, electronics and computer science literature, featuring journals & conference proceedings from the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) and the Institution of Engineering and Technology (IET). Current, archived, and redlined IEEE standards.
Internet and Personal Computing Abstracts
Personal computing products & developments in business, the Internet, the home, Macintosh and Windows platforms, programming, web development and all other applied areas
Safari Tech Books Online
Computer science, certification, databases, desktop applications, desktop publishing, enterprise computing, graphics, human-computer interaction, hardware, internet, IT management, markup languages, multimedia, networking, operating systems, programming, security, software engineering.

ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journals and books in physical sciences & engineering, life sciences, health, medicine, social sciences, and humanities. Not all content is full-text.

SPIE Digital Library
Applied Optics, Photonic Science, and Engineering technologies applied in mathematics, astronomy, medical imaging, defense, nanotechnology, remote sensing, alternative energy and other areas.
Springer eBook Collection - Computer Science
Full-text coverage 2005-present, some series such as Lecture Notes in Computer Science go back to 1997.

Research Experience for Undergraduates in Computer Science: Suggested Databases

Articles/Databases

Other Important Databases

Selected Databases

Finding An Article from a Citation