CS 7300: Introduction to Research in Computer Science

Not sure where to start searching?  Try Start Your Research to find relevant databases!

• On the main library web page, click on Advanced Search below the Start Your Research search bar. 
• Complete your search using the techniques below.
• Once you have a list of results, use the filters in the Refine Results column to narrow your results.
• At the bottom of the column, you can see which databases are bringing back the best results!  Interested in articles from the Medline Complete database?  Try other medical databases that aren't listed.  Interested in articles from the Engineering Source database?  Try other engineering databases that aren't listed.

While Start Your Research doesn't search all our databases, the databases in that list can indicate other databases that might be helpful.

Search by keywords and small phrases.

Maximize your keyword searches with Boolean searching.

Use the database’s "help" feature to find the syntax for advanced searches. This varies by database

Consider truncation. The asterisk (*) symbol is used most often. 

Typing in stand* will give results containing: stands, standing, standards, standardize, and etc.

Try using the database’s subject or descriptor terms. Those are listed in the database’s thesaurus, or they may be listed near the article abstract. These can be useful for learning the preferred vocabulary of a discipline.

Here are some quick non-search tricks to help you research more efficiently.

• Use the personalization features offered by databases. Registering for an account on a database unlocks many useful features like search alerts.
• Many databases can save your search as a link or an RSS feed. You can bookmark where you were to refer back to a search, or use a feed reader like Google Reader to receive updates.
• Use the multiple databases searching feature, if the database you are using has one. This allows you to search multiple databases from a given company.
• Does it have an app?  Many databases either have a mobile interface or an app to enable searching from a smartphone.
• Use a citation manager to generate bibliographies and in-line citations.

Google Scholar can be a useful tool when collecting research information. Accessing Google Scholar from the Library Databases page will link to the subscription sources available to you as a Texas State Student. If you do not use the library link for off campus access, you won't be able to access library-subscribed content. If you are off campus, you will be prompted for your TxState NetID to search Google Scholar.