Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Why should I use a library database?
Databases are an efficient search tool when you're conducting research because they search multiple topics and various formats simultaneously. Instead of searching through multiple academic journals, statistics, case studies, company profiles, and more.
This page has several databases that are frequently used in the School of Journalism and Mass Communication.
Visit the Research Databases page to access more databases available through Alkek Library.
Periodicals/Full Text Finder
Use Periodical List to search for an academic journal, magazine, or newspaper. You may also browse journals by discipline.
Full Text Finder checks multiple library databases in order to located a full text of an article.
Business Trends, Case Studies, & More
Database covering several topics, including companies, products, business trends, corporate strategies, data processing, finance, marketing, advertising, and more.
Business Source Complete
Database including full text articles, investment, industry, company, market research reports, case studies, company profiles, and financial data. Includes SWOT analyses and 55 videos from the Harvard Business School Faculty Seminar Series.
Database covering topics of communication, mass media, public relations, and more.
Market Profiles, Demographics, Psychoanalytics
Over 7,000 U.S. and Canadian advertisements in five product categories - Beauty and Hygiene, Radio, Television, Transportation, and World War II propaganda.
Market research reports. Industries covered - Service, Consumer Goods, Demographics, Food & Beverage, Heavy Industry, Life Science, Public Sector, Technology & Media.
A consumer market research tool that delivers sophisticated demographic, segmentation, and targeting data for media planners and consumer marketers. Produce Market profile reports, demographics reports, lifestyle analysis reports using the PRIZM Premier Segmentation system. Claritas 360 only works with Google Chrome! Coverage: Current.
A global market information database with extensive industry, company, country and consumer reports and statistics. Reports on emerging industries, country and consumer trends.
SimplyAnalytics *** previously SimplyMap****
Extensive demographic, business and marketing data from sources such as census data from 2000 and 2010,Current Estimates, Five Year Projections, the Experian SimmonsLOCAL® and Nielsen Claritas PRIZM® Data Packages. Coverage: 2000-present.
Advertising and marketing sources and research. Includes Digital Media, Consumer Magazine Media, Business Publication Media, Local Media by DMA, Newspaper Media, Radio Media, Out-of-Home Media, TV and Cable Media, Segmentation & Market Solutions, Print Circulation, and International Media Guides for Consumers and Newspapers Worldwide.
Consumer demographics. This is the online version of GfK MRI's Survey of the American Consumer, psychographics/lifestyles, product & brand usage, and media preferences based on a sample households. Although MRI provides marketing research for a wide variety of products, it does not analyze all consumer items. Please see the Tutorial document
Coverage: 2018 to last year