PubMed & Medline Databases
What is PubMed?
PubMed is a free resource that is developed and maintained by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI), at the U.S. National Library of Medicine (NLM), located at the National Institutes of Health (NIH). Pubmed contains over 23.5 million citations, but does not include full text articles.
What is Medline?
Medline is the U.S. National Library of Medicine® (NLM) premier bibliographic database that contains more than 25 million references to journal articles in life sciences with a concentration on biomedicine. A distinctive feature of MEDLINE is that the records are indexed with NLM Medical Subject Headings (MeSH®).
- MEDLINE Complete This link opens in a new window
PubMed Tutorials & Help
- PubMed Quick Start GuideHow to search, find citations, display an abstract, get a copy of an article, watch videos, and narrow/broaden your search.
- PubMed® Online TrainingVariety of training videos and clips.
Off-Campus Database Access
- Databases are available to all students of Texas State. When you access databases from off-campus, you will be prompted for your username and password. This is the same as your NetID for campus email or Canvas.
If you are having trouble or would like a more detailed explanation, see the Remote Databases Access page. This page includes names and phone numbers of people to contact for assistance.
Recommended Nutrition & Health Databases
- CINAHL Ultimate This link opens in a new windowThe main nursing and allied health database containing full-text articles, clinical innovations, critical paths, drug records, research instruments, and clinical trials, as well as citations to books, dissertations, and conference proceedings. 1937 to present.
- Nutrition Terminology Reference Manual This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive guide for implementing the Nutrition Care Process. Access tutorial here. Simultaneous users limited is 10. If you are having trouble accessing this resource, see Additional Info, below.
- ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journals and books in physical sciences & engineering, life sciences, health, medicine, social sciences, and humanities. Not all content is full-text.
- Health and Human Performance DatabasesLots more databases available through the library that specialize in health, medicine, and nutrition.