Scholarly Social Media
Databases
Try Start Your Research first! Search results can be limited to citations from Peer Reviewed journals.
That databases listed below get searched via Start Your Research, but searching the databases directly can provide access to special filters only available when you search using their platform. At the bottom left corner in Start Your Research search results, you can see which Databases might work best for your topic based on the keywords you search.
- Education SourceScholarly research in education & education-related social issues. All levels of education from early childhood to higher education, and all educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education, & testing. 1900-present.
- ERICEducation journals & documents (research reports, evaluation studies, curriculum guides & lesson plans collected by the U.S. Dept. of Education). 1966-present.
- Family & Society Studies WorldwideResearch, policy, and practice literature in the fields of family and society studies. Some linked full text articles. Citations to conference papers, books, book chapters, government reports, discussion and working papers, statistical documents, theses and dissertations.1970-present.
- Family Studies AbstractsFamily studies, marriage, divorce, family therapy, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline. 1936-present
- PsycINFOPeer reviewed journal articles and books in psychology, counseling and related fields, such as sociology, linguistics, medicine, law, physiology, business, psychiatry, and anthropology. Includes international material selected from more than 2,500 periodicals in more than 27 languages. 1887-present.
- Social Sciences Full TextCovers anthropology, community health and medicine, economics, environmental sciences, geography, international relations, law and criminology, police science, planning and public administration, psychology, psychiatry, political science, sociology, and social work. 1983-present
- Social Services AbstractsSocial work, human services, social welfare, social policy, & community development. 1980-present *
- Social Work AbstractsCitations and abstracts for articles in social work and social welfare periodicals. 1977-present
- Sociological AbstractsSociology, anthropology, economics, education, medicine, community development, philosophy, political science, demography, and social psycholog. 1952-present. *
- Sociology Source UltimateSociology, anthropology, criminology, criminal justice, demography, economic development, ethnic & racial studies, gender studies, marriage & family, politics, religion, rural sociology, social psychology, social structure, social work, sociological theory, sociology of education, substance abuse, urban studies, violence, and welfare. 1895-present
What is Peer-Reviewed?
Libraries subscribe to various types of periodicals, such as scholarly (some of which may be peer-reviewed, blind peer-reviewed, editorial review) popular, or trade publications. Choosing which to use depends on your topic, the type of writing you are doing, your assignment, and the sources your professor wants you to use. Many databases offer the option to limit to "Peer Reviewed". If you're not sure if a journal is considered scholarly/peer-reviewed, check Ulrich's by looking up the title of the journal.
What is a peer-reviewed journal?
A scholarly/academic journal is peer-reviewed when manuscripts are sent to experts, sometimes anonymously (blind peer-reviewed), in the related field. They make recommendations to editor for publication, rejection or revision. These journals are generally thought to be of the highest quality.