It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
ENG 1310: College Writing I: Persuasive Paper
This course guide contains library resources for ENG 1310 (College Writing I) students.
Once you have selected a topic, it is helpful to find additional backgroundinformation. What to look for when learning more about the topic:
Events, people, and key dates
Facts surrounding the topic
These databases contain articles about on current issues, trends, pro/con arguments and controversial issues.
CQ ResearcherIn-depth, unbiased coverage of health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, economy, and global affairs. Reports include an introductory overview; background and chronology on the topic; an assessment of the current situation; tables and maps; pro/con statements from representatives of opposing positions; and bibliographies of key sources.
Coverage: 1923 to present
What is a research database?
A research database is a searchable collection of thousands of articles, often organized by subject.
What is a scholarly journal?
A scholarly journal is a scholarly publication with multiple articles that is often subject specific or has a specific audience. Sometimes referred to as a periodical, because they are published at regularly occurring intervals.