What is a Zine?
A zine - derived from magazine - is an independently- or self-published booklet, often created by a single person. Zines are customarily created by physically cutting and gluing text and images together onto a master flat for photocopying, but it is also common to produce the master by typing and formatting pages on a computer. The end product is usually folded and stapled. Zines can be printed and bound in any manner. Offset printing is a relatively common alternative to photocopying, though there is some controversy among zine writers as to whether professionally printed products may be defined as zines. -- From ZineWiki
How Do I Find Zines at Alkek?
The Alkek Library Zine Collection is on the 3rd floor by the Graphic Novel Collection.
You can browse the covers of the Zine Collection on the 3rd Floor next to the Graphic Novel Collection.
Scan the QR Code for the zine(s) that you want to checkout and that takes you to the request form to request the zines be delivered from the ARC to Alkek or other pickup location.
You can browse a list of zines in the library catalog. Search for the name of a Zine that you want to see. For example, type Muchacha in the library catalog search field, scroll down, and click the "Zines" button to see all the zines in the collection.
You can see what Zines are at Alkek here
You can add your zine to the library's collection and/or to the TXST UNIVERSITY SCHOLARSHIP repository where a scanned copy of your whole zine will be located. See student zines in the TXST UNIVERSITY SCHOLARSHIP repository here: https://digital.library.txstate.edu/handle/10877/9175
If you would like to donate your zines to the lbrary collection or add them to the TXST UNIVERSITY SCHOLARSHIP repository, please contact Tara Spies Smith at ts20@txstate.edu
The What's a Zine and How Do I Find Them at Alkek? zine pictured below can be printed, folded, and cut to make a zine and to give you more information about how to find zines in the library's collection. This zine has directions of how to make the zine, where to buy zines, as well as more info that you can also find on this Zines Research Guide.
Find this zine already folded and free for you to take at the table with the typewriter near the Graphic Novel Collection on the 3rd floor.
