Skip to main content

African American Studies: Journals / Databases

Featured

Slavery in America and the World: History, Culture & Law -- Legal materials on slavery in the United States and the English-speaking world. This includes every statute passed by every colony and state on slavery, every federal statute dealing with slavery, and all reported state and federal cases on slavery. Coverage: 1694-2006; Includes: Legal documents, pamphlets, books, essays and articles. Slavery and Anti-Slavery: A Transnational Archive -- This historical archive embraces the scholarly study of slavery in a comprehensive, conceptual and global way. It covers a wide spectrum of interests related to the history of slavery: legal issues; the Caribbean; children and women under slavery; modes of resistance; and much more. Part 1: Debates over Slavery and Abolition, Part II: Slave Trade in the Atlantic World, Part III: Institution of Slavery, Part IV: Age of Emancipation. Coverage:1490-1896; Includes: pages sourced from books, pamphlets, newspapers, periodicals, legal documents, court records, monographs, manuscripts, and maps from many different countries.

Browzine: Featured AAST Journals

Databases

Image result for database African American Experience


African American Experience 
-- African American history & culture from its African origins to the present day. It encompasses the myriad contributions of individuals from the African American community who have achieved prominence in the arts, entertainment, the sciences, business, the military, and politics as well as nameless others who endured the travails of slavery and institutionalized discrimination. Contains over 8,000 primary documents, including slave narratives, speeches, court cases, quotations, advertisements, statistics, 1,500 photographs, maps, and other images. Coverage: Late 1700s to present.


Black Abolitionist Papers -- This primary source collection is the first to comprehensively detail the extensive work of African Americans to abolish slavery in the United States prior to the Civil War. Coverage: 1830-1865. Includes: Manuscripts, correspondence, literary works, proceedings, speeches, articles.
Image result for proquest Ethnic NewsWatch

Ethnic NewsWatch -- News, culture, and history from 300 publications of ethnic, minority, and native presses. Coverage: 1990 to present. Includes: Some linked full text articles.

Image result for "Race Relations Abstracts"
Race Relations Abstracts -- Ethnic studies, discrimination, immigration studies, race relations. Coverage: 1975 to present. Includes: Citations to journal articles, some full text.

 

Additional Databases

Image result for America: History and Life with Full Text
America: History and Life with Full Text -- United States history, Canadian history from prehistoric times to the present. The database covers all key journals in the discipline, state and local history publications, and selected articles from scholarly journals in the social sciences and humanities. Coverage: Indexing from 1895, full text from 1935.

Image result for JSTOR database

JSTOR is a digital library of academic journals, books, and primary sources.

Image result for Political Science ebsco‚Äč

Political Science Complete -- Law and legislation, comparative politics, political theory, international relations, humanitarian issues and non-governmental organizations via journal articles, books, monographs, and conference papers.

Image result for "African American Historical Serials"

African American Historical Serials -- This archive was developed in conjunction with the American Theological Library Association (ATLA) as part of an effort to preserve endangered serials related to African American religious life and culture. Content was provided by 75 institutions and includes over 170 titles which are unique to this collection.