Web Resources
American FactFinder | Census Bureau's portal for data from 2010 Census, 2015 Population Estimate & 2014 American Community Survey.
-
The Black Population in the United StatesCurrent Population Reports containing social, economic, and educational demographics on the Black population.
-
Data Visualization GalleryA weekly exploration of Census data.
-
Facts on the Black/African American PopulationDemographic, social, and economic information on the Black/African American population.
-
Statistical Abstract of the United StatesAuthoritative summary of U.S. statistics since 1878.
-
African American ResearchNational Archives resources for African American genealogy research.
-
Archives Library Information Center Black HistoryNational Archives Black History Month homepage.
-
Emancipation ProclamationIssued on January 1, 1863 by President Abraham Lincoln the Emancipation Proclamation declared "that all persons held as slaves" within the rebellious states "are, and henceforward shall be free."
-
Military Resources: Blacks in the MilitaryList of National Archives resources on Blacks in the military.
-
John H. White: A Portrait of Black ChicagoIn 1973-1974, John H. White, a photographer with the Chicago Daily News, worked for the Environmental Protection Agency`s DOCUMERICA project photographing Chicago`s African American community.American MemoryOpen access to written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience, from the collections of the Library of Congress and other institutions.African American Mosaic: A Library of Congress Resource Guide1994 exhibit and resource guide to LC's African- American collections. Mosaic surveys the full range size, and variety of the Library's collections, including books, periodicals, prints, photographs, music, film, and recorded sound.Federal Courts Web ArchiveCoverage of federal judiciary websites, including Supreme Court, federal appellate courts, trial courts, and other tribunals. Sites include: slip opinions, transcripts, dockets, court rules, calendars, announcements, judicial biographies, statistics, educational resources, and reference materials.
-
Civil Rights Data CollectionData on key education and civil rights issues for use by the Department's offices, including the Office for Civil Rights, and other policymakers and researchers.
-
Department of Education: Office of Civil RightsThe mission is to ensure equal access to education and to promote educational excellence throughout the nation through vigorous enforcement of civil rights.
-
Digest Of Educational StatisticsStatistical information covering American education from prekindergarten through graduate school. Digest includes data from many sources, both government and private, and especially by the National Center for Education Statistics.
-
Educational Resource Information Center (ERIC)ERIC provides unlimited access to more than 1.3 million bibliographic records of journal articles and other education-related materials.
-
Nation's report CardThe National Assessment of Educational Progress (NAEP) is the only nationally representative and continuing assessment of what America's students know and can do in various subject areas. Assessments are conducted periodically in mathematics, reading, science, writing, the arts, civics, economics, geography, and U.S. history.
-
Status and Trends in the Education of Racial and Ethnic Groups 2018Data on African American education in the U.S. Most of the information is contained in other federal reports, but the 228-page report is useful as it collects data on African American educational attainment at all levels in one place.
-
Upward Bound ProgramUpward Bound provides fundamental support to participants in their preparation for college entrance. The program provides opportunities for participants to succeed in their precollege performance and ultimately in their higher education pursuits. Upward Bound serves: high school students from low-income families; and high school students from families in which neither parent holds a bachelor's degree.
-
CDC: Obesity and OverweightDivision of Nutrition, Physical Activity, and Obesity (DNPAO)
Student Organizations
African Student Organization aims to learn about and to educate our peers about the history of Africa as a whole. To strive to give back to Africa: time, money, and hearts. Facebook | Twitter
Black & Latina/o/x Studies LLC is located in Blanco Hall, this LLC is for first-year students who are minoring in African American Studies or Latino/a Studies. It is also for first-year students who have an interest in learning more about these disciplines.
Black Men United (BMU) is a brotherhood-based student organization that empowers Black males through dialogue, skill development and service. Meetings are held weekly on Thursdays at 7:00 pm in LBJ Student Center Room 3-5.1 Facebook | Twitter
Black Student Alliance (BSA) creates and promotes cultural and educational activities for Black students. It also provides opportunity for development of leadership, responsibility, and goodwill toward others. Facebook | Twitter | YouTube
Black Women United (BWU) is an organization where women of all ethnicities can come together to educate and empower themselves. Meetings are held weekly on Thursdays at 6:00 pm in LBJ Student Center Room 3-13.1 Facebook | Twitter
Caribbean Student Association aims to bring together the underrepresented Texas State population of Caribbean students and those alike, men and women; a collective effort to unite and learn about the different West Indian culture through art, entertainment, activities, and community service. Facebook | Twitter
Coalescence provides an organization of peers who identify as bi-racial or multi-racial with a goal of pursuing a common bond between backgrounds by embracing racial and cultural differences. Meetings are held weekly on Mondays at 7:00 pm in LBJ Student Center 4-9.1 Facebook | Twitter
Hip Hop Congress is a diverse community-service based organization that strives to unite cultures through the art of Hip Hop by encouraging creativity, cultural expression and social activism. Facebook | Twitter
Impact Movement takes the truth of Jesus Christ to the campus, community and world by producing leaders of African descent who are spiritually focused, financially responsible and morally fit. Facebook | Twitter
Gospel Expression Association (GEA) meets and provies activities including choir rehearsal, Bible study and concerts. Facebook | Twitter
National Association of Black Accountants educates the minds of future minority business leaders. To inform them about career opportunities, scholarships, internships, and the technologically advancing world of finance and accounting. Facebook | Twitter | Website
National Association for the Advancement of Colored People is a civil rights organization founded in 1909 that strives to have equality for all. Facebook | Twitter
National Society of Black Engineers at Texas State aims to increase the number of culturally responsible black engineers who excel academically, professionally, and positively impact the community. Twitter