ARTS 1305: Digital Studio One Foundations: Articles & Databases

Credo Reference  Alkek reference source for ideas on keywords and background information. Has images and concept map too. See the tutorial below and more info about Credo Reference below.

E-Reference Sources at Alkek Library full list of our e-reference resources: full-text subject encyclopedias and dictionaries

Grove Art Online

Oxford Reference Alkek reference source for ideas on keywords and background information

Texshare - Check out a book from almost anywhere in Texas with one of these cards. Click for information.

Worldcat Searches thousands of libraries -  built-in interlibrary loan request button allows you to get material we don't own.

Log in to ILLiad to make an Interlibrary Loan request

Interlibrary Loan is a Library lending service available to current TxState students and employees. ILL borrows items from other libraries that the Alkek Library does not own.

This service is free to Texas State students, faculty, and staff. Typical turnaround for a book is 2 weeks.  Turnaround time for articles varies depending on format (hard copy or electronic) but averages 2 to 3 days.

NOTE! This will only give you access to scholarly articles that Alkek Library subscribes to if you are on campus! If you are off campus and want to use Google Scholar to search far articles that we have access to please use the library's Google Scholar proxy link which is located on the list of G databases on the Research Databases page. 

Try searching our Start Your Research tool! It searches multiple databases for articles and the library catalog for books and other materials. This tool can be good if your topic is cross-disciplinary and you are looking for different types of materials like images!

After you do an intial search in the box pictured below, look to the right to see related images. 

Check the Databases list for more database descriptions and subject areas.

Art and Design Databases

These resources can be found on the Library Home Page through the Databases link and then under the Art & Design. Most of these are for finding articles. Also refer to the Library's Image Collections resources. If you are not in the library you will be prompted for your Texas State username and password. Use the Images tab on this guide for more about finding images.

• Art & Architecture Archive
• Art & Architecture Source
• Art History Research net (formerly Arts: Search)
• Arts & Humanities Citation Index
• Design and Applied Arts Index
• Humanities Source (was Humanities Full Text, now includes Humanities International Complete)
• Infotrac Fine Arts and Music Collection
• InfoTrac Pop Culture Collection
• JSTOR
• Project Muse
• rhizome.org (covers contemporary art)
• Web Of Science - 

  Provides cross-search of multiple databases: Web of Science citation indexes (Social Sciences, Arts & Humanities, Book, Data, and Conference Proceedings, and Emerging Sources), Biosis Citation Index, BIOSIS Previews, Current Contents Connect (tables of contents), Derwent Innovations Index, SciELO, MEDLINE, and Zoological Record. Also provides links (at top edge) to Journal Citation Reports and Essential Science Indicators.

Communication Studies Databases

Communication Studies Databases could also be another good source for articles since they can cover visual communication theories.

Image Databases

Also refer to the Library's full list of Image Databases. Use the Images tab on this guide for more about finding images or see the Finding Images Research Guide.

• Ad*Access  
• ARTStor
• AP Multimedia Archive
• Credo Reference
• Grove Art Online
• WorldImages
• Web Gallery of Art
• Google Image Search

Newspaper Databases

You could also check out our newspaper databases, especially the historical ones, for good resources on art. Newspaper articles from the time period of the work of art can be considered a primary source material.Exhibition catalogs from the time period of the art are primary sources too!

Newspaper databases can also good for finding articles about contemporary artists.

Worldcat - searches thousands of libraries -  built-in interlibrary loan request button allows you to get material we don't own.

Also search Dissertations and Theses Global for other theses and dissertations on your topic and to find literature reviews.

You'll see something like this:

It's important to know the parts of a citation so you can interpret it correctly. You must have at least the Journal name, volume, issue, and page number to be able to locate the article.