Finding Newspaper Articles
The Library subscribes to the full text of several historic newspapers online. These are a treasure trove of primary source material for various events.
- Historical Newspapers (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Many popular newspapers, dating back as far as the 19th century. Includes Black Historical Newspapers. Access for each paper begins with the first issue published, end dates are varied and evolving.
- Times Digital Archive 1785-2014 This link opens in a new window
The entire newspaper is captured with all articles, advertisements and illustrations/photos divided into categories for easier searching. 1785-2014.
Bibliography Mining
If someone has already done research on a topic you are investigating you are encouraged to seek out the same sources. Sometimes you may find an abundant amount of material that wasn't important to them, but is perfect for you. Other times you may find you disagree with their interpretation, which will give you something to write about from a fresh perspective.
Theses and dissertations are a great place to find bibliographies (sometimes called literature reviews) Many can be found in this database-
- Dissertations & Theses Global This link opens in a new windowWorld's largest collection of full-text theses and dissertations. 1861 to present.
- Oxford Bibliographies This link opens in a new windowAfrican-American Studies, African Studies, American Literature, Anthropology, Art History, Atlantic History, Childhood Studies, Cinema & Media Studies, Communication, Criminology, Ecology, Education, Environmental Science, Geography, International Relations, Latin American Studies, Latino Studies, Linguistics, Management, Music, Philosophy, Political Science, Psychology, Public Health & Epidemiology, Social Work and Sociology. Each article includes an introduction written by a top scholar in the field and is an authoritative guide to the current scholarship with original commentary, annotations, and recommendations on the best works available whether it be a chapter, a book, a journal article, a website, an archive, or data set.
Finding journal articles and documents online
The library has many databases dealing with historical topics. A full list of those database is avilable here The databases listed below are some good starting points for your research.
We also have a separate list of Primary Souces-Historical. This pulls together a list of databases (like newspapers and other documents) that are mostly primary sources.
- America: History and Life with Full Text This link opens in a new windowUnited States and Canadian history from prehistoric times to the present. The database indexes all key journals in the discipline, state and local history publications. Indexing from 1895, full text from 1935.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journals and books. Access begins with the first volume for many journal titles, but usually does not have the newest volumes of each journal. To try out AI tools in JSTOR, login using your personal JSTOR account and visit the FAQs to learn more.
- Project Muse This link opens in a new window
Journals and ebooks from major university presses on literature and criticism, history, performing arts, cultural studies, education, philosophy, political science, gender studies, and more.
- Eighteenth Century Collections Online This link opens in a new window
Contains every significant English-language and foreign-language title printed in Great Britain during the 18th century, along with thousands of important works from the Americas. 1700-1799
- American Indian Experience This link opens in a new window
Articles and primary sources on the history and culture of indigenous peoples from precontact through the 21st century. Includes treaties, speeches, captivity narratives, traditional storytelling, maps, photographs, and video.
- HathiTrust Digital Library This link opens in a new window
A digital collective of books and journals from numerous academic and research libraries around the world.
- Black Abolitionist Papers, 1830-1865 This link opens in a new window
Primary source collection detailing the efforts of African Americans to abolish slavery in the U.S. prior to the Civil War. 1830-1865.
