| Google Scholar |
Google Scholar can be a useful tool when collecting research information. Settings can be updated to display:
Library Links - FindIt@Txstate
Bibliography Manager - EndNote (refers to Desktop EndNote)
- Ulrich'sTo find out if a journal is considered Refereed/Peer-Reviewed, check the Ulrich's database by doing a search for the title of the journal. Many library databases allow searches to be limited to articles published in Peer-Reviewed journals.
Databases
Try Start Your Research first! Search results can be limited to citations from Peer Reviewed journals.
That databases listed below get searched via Start Your Research, but searching the databases directly can provide access to special filters only available when you search using their platform. At the bottom left corner in Start Your Research search results, you can see which Databases might work best for your topic based on the keywords you search.
Databases are listed from the Criminal Justice subjects on the main databases page and are core research databases for Criminal Justice research.
-
Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new windowCriminology & related disciplines, crime trends, crime prevention and deterrence, juvenile delinquency, juvenile justice, police, courts, punishment and sentencing. International coverage, 1910-present.
-
Criminal Justice Database This link opens in a new windowTheoretical and practical material for both scholars and those in criminal justice related fields. 1981 to present.
-
National Criminal Justice Reference Service Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Abstracts of research about corrections, courts, crime statistics, domestic preparedness, drugs, juvenile justice, law enforcement, and victims. 1970 to present.
-
Sociology Source Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive scholarship on sociology and related fields (anthropology, criminology, etchnic studies, gender studies, social psychology, substance abuse, urban studies). 1895-present.
-
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Indexes articles, books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers in sociology and related fields. International in scope. 1952 to present. Simultaneous user limit is 8.
-
Social Sciences Full Text (H.W. Wilson) This link opens in a new window
Journal articles and book reviews in the social sciences (anthropology, economics, education, philosophy, political science, law, and sociology). 1983-present
-
PsycINFO (APA) This link opens in a new window
The most comprehensive international index of peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. 1887 to present.
-
Sage Journals Online This link opens in a new windowCovers all subject areas but particularly strong in social studies. Most journals provide access from volume 1 to present.
-
Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new windowFull-text access to Wiley and Blackwell journals and over 22,000 ebooks. 1997 to present, with select journal titles going back further to volume 1.
- Social Sciences Full Text (H.W. Wilson) This link opens in a new window
Journal articles and book reviews in the social sciences (anthropology, economics, education, philosophy, political science, law, and sociology). 1983-present