Introduction
You'll find information about how to find books, search for articles, and various services Alkek Library has to offer Counseling students and faculty. Alkek Librarians are available to help you via Ask Us!.
Much of the information librarians cover in class meetings with students can be reviewed in the Library Instruction Modules available in the Canvas course site for COUN 5301, on the left navigation.
Let's Be Social!
Getting Started | Background Information | Reference Material
- Sage eReferenceReference Material in the form of subject dictionaries, encyclopedias, and handbooks typically provide background essays, definitions, broad overviews of various topics, or other pertinent facts. Sage eReference is a keyword-searchable collection of multi-disciplinary reference titles.
- International Encyclopedia of the Social & Behavioral Sciences This Encyclopedia is the first attempt in a generation to map the social and behavioral sciences on a grand scale. Not since the publication in 1968 of the International Encyclopedia of the Social Sciences, edited by David L. Sills, has there been such an ambitious project to describe the state of the art in all the fields encompassed within the social and behavioral sciences. It comprises 4,000 articles, commissioned by 52 Section Editors, and includes 90,000 bibliographic references as well as comprehensive name and subject indexes.
- Annual Review of Psychology Covering all areas of psychology research and practice, the Annual Review of Psychology is planned by a rotating committee of eight distinguished psychologists who invite qualified authors to contribute reviews of significant developments in the discipline.
- Review of Research in Education Review of Research in Education (RRE), published annually, provides a forum for analytic research reviews on selected education topics of significance to the field. Each volume addresses a topic of broad relevance to education and learning, and publishes articles that critically examine diverse literatures and bodies of knowledge across relevant disciplines and fields. RRE volumes advance the state of the knowledge, promote discussion, and shape directions for future research.
- School Counselor's Book of Lists. A quick, easy guide for finding information on almost any topic pertinent to school counselors, the book covers everything from writing student assessments and dealing with school crises to setting budgets and running effective meetings. In order to address the transformed role of school counselors, the contents of this comprehensive second edition map to the American School Counselor Association's National Model for Counseling Programs. Includes hundreds of helpful lists offering guidelines, strategies, trends, and resources ; Officially endorsed by the American School Counselor Association (ASCA) ; Addresses the pressing issues faced by today's school counselors ; This revised edition is appropriate for school counseling graduate programs as well as to practitioners in the K-12 field.
