Google Scholar
If you would prefer to use Google Scholar, be sure to customize your Google account so you can access materials at the library.
- Choose Settings from the Top-Left Menu.
- Click "Library Links", and search for "Texas State University"
- Check the boxes next to Texas State University. Now your results will include links to articles in many of our library databases.
Keep in mind that Google Scholar does not search the same set of materials that are available in the library.
- There are (a GREAT many) journals in Google Scholar that are not academic or authoritative. Interrogate their credibility more vigorously.
- There are journals at the library that are not in Google Scholar. Not finding much? Go check the library itself.
- Cabells AnalyticsSearch for a journal in Cabells to determine whether it may be a known fraudulent journal. The "Journalytics" area lists known reputable journals. "Predatory Reports" area gathers questionable journals.
Best Bets Databases
- ACM Digital Library This link opens in a new windowJournal articles, conference proceedings, and ebooks from the ACM and affiliated organizations. 1954-present.
- Applied Science & Technology Source This link opens in a new window
Contains the complete content of Industrial Arts Index (1913-1957) and Applied Science & Technology Index (1958-1983), plus select full text articles from 1965 to present.
- CiteSeer - Scientific Literature Digital Library This link opens in a new windowSearch engine focused on surfacing and disseminating scientific literature primarily in computer and information science.
- IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new window
Current electrical engineering, electronics and computer science literature, featuring journals & conference proceedings from the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) and the Institution of Engineering & Technology (IET) from 1950 to present. Current, archived, and redlined IEEE standards from 1988 to present.
- O'Reilly This link opens in a new windowSkill development and certification guides in a wide range of technology including artificial intelligence, enterprise business applications, game development, mobile applications, operating systems, programming languages, and much more. Current editions.
- ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journals and books in physical sciences & engineering, life sciences, health, medicine, social sciences, and humanities. Not all content is full-text.
- SpringerLink This link opens in a new window
Access to Springer journals, ebooks, protocols, conference papers, and reference books. Multidisciplinary.
Other Important Databases
Web of Science
Web of Science is an extremely useful database for literature reviews. It gives information like times an article has been cited, and by whom.
CiteSeer
CiteSeer also serves as a citation index showing who has cited whom.
Dissertations & Theses
Dissertations & Theses contains citations for dissertations & theses from 1861 to the present. Titles published since 1997 are available for download in PDF format.
Digital Collections @TxState
Digital Collections @TxState contains full text dissertations, theses, pre-prints, post-prints, datasets, journals, conference papers, reports, presentations from Texas State University.
What's Full Text Finder?
Can't tell if we have the full text? Click on the Full Text Finder icon.
Full Text Finder is a software program that will search all of the library's other databases to see if the full text is available anywhere else.
If the full-text article is available in a different database, the Full Text Finder will open a page with the full article.
If the full-text article is NOT available in any database, you have a couple of options:
- First, check the Periodical List—the library may have a copy elsewhere, and may even print copy of that journal. If we have a print copy, put in a GrADS request to have it scanned and sent to you.
- If the library does not own a print copy, order the article through InterLibrary Loan (ILLiad). Hint: if you log into ILLiad and then use the ILLiad on the Full Text Finder results page, it will automatically fill in your request form.