Streaming Databases
The University Libraries subscribes to many streaming databases
See the list below for streaming databases that include movies you might find useful for this class:
- Kanopy Streaming This link opens in a new window
Streaming videos from BBC, PBS, Documentary Educational Resources, Criterion Collection and others. The platform allows you to make playlists and clips, and share links.
- Swank Digital Campus This link opens in a new windowA selection of feature films from well-known studios such as MGM, Miramax, United Artists, Columbia Pictures, and Dreamworks. These films are NOT LICENSED for public events. They may be streamed only in a face-to-face classroom setting or for individual use.
- Academic Video Online: Premium This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive multidisciplinary academic streaming video collection. Includes newsreels, award-winning documentaries, field recordings, interviews, lectures, training videos, and exclusive primary footage.
- Films on Demand: Master Academic Collection This link opens in a new window
Educational, close-captioned videos on all subject areas. Includes archival film and newsreels, documentaries and films from producers such as A&E, BBC learning, and PBS.An external tool is available in Canvas to embed Films on Demand videos.
- Independent World Cinema: Classic and Contemporary Film This link opens in a new window
Includes more than 400 of the most important films produced from the early 20th century to today. 1910-2016.
- Drama Online This link opens in a new window
Classical works to contemporary plays combined with critical analysis, contextual information, biographies, genres and Nick Hern books.
- BBC Shakespeare Plays This link opens in a new window
Streaming video collection of the complete dramatic works of William Shakespeare broadcast by the BBC in the 1980s.
- Broadway HD This link opens in a new window
Recordings of live plays and musicals from writers, directors, and actors recognized by the Tony Awards and the Pulitzer Prize.
