Librarian
Rate this guide!
Did you find this guide helpful?
If you have specific suggestions, please feel free to add them in the comments below. :)
New! Open Access & Digital Repository Databases
These are a selection of Drama & Theatre oriented freely accessible open access & digital collections.
Archives (includes texts, images, etc)
- Billy Rose Theatre Collection at the New York Public LibraryThe Billy Rose Theatre Division of The New York Public Library is one of the largest and most comprehensive archives devoted to the theatrical arts
- Cuban Theater Digital ArchiveThe Digital Archive includes materials digitized and filmed in Cuba and outside the island as well as resources and information related to Cuban theater, with a special focus on theater produced by Cuban communities in the United States.
- Historical Costume CollectionThe Historic Costume Collection is a database of books illustrating historic costume in the collections of the Carnegie Mellon University Libraries.
- The New Deal Stage: Selections from the Federal Theatre Project 1935-1939Over 13,000 images of stage and costume designs, photographs, posters and scripts from the Federal Theatre Project, a part of FDR's Works Progress Administration.
Dialects
- British Library Survey of English DialectsThe Survey of English Dialects (SED) was a groundbreaking nationwide survey of the vernacular speech of England, undertaken by researchers based at the University of Leeds under the direction of Harold Orton
Shakespeare Texts & Resources
- Internet Shakespeare EditionsMakes available open-access, peer-reviewed Shakespeare resources with the highest standards of scholarship, design, and usability. Can give individual donations to access database functionalities.
- MIT Global ShakespearesThe MIT Global Shakespeares Video & Performance Archive is a collaborative project providing online access to performances of Shakespeare from many parts of the world as well as essays and metadata by scholars and educators in the field.
Library Services
You can use the Ask a Librarian service for questions about library resources, research assignments or other information. We offer Chat, Text, or you can also email a question to us.
You can also make an online or face to face appointment with a reference librarian. Here's more information about individual research consultations.
ILL is a library service that allows faculty, staff, and students to borrow items from other libraries that the Alkek Library does not own. Set up your account and use ILLIAD, the online interlibrary loan request system to request items.
Things to know:
- It is free to use this service.
- Typical turnaround for a
book is 3-10 days. - Electronic items are quickest to arrive.
- You'll get an email notification when your items are ready for pickup.
- Electronic items are available for download in Illiad for 30 days.
- Pick up print items at Alkek at the Circulation/Reserves Desk on the 2nd floor.
- You must log in to Illiad at least 3 days before the due date to renew print items.
Please call 512.245.4893 or email with additional questions.
Request a card online through this TexShare Card request form or sign up in person at the Checkout Desk.
- Texshare cards allow you borrowing privileges at many local libraries, including the following participating libraries.
- All current students and employees are eligible.
- Cards are valid for an entire semester.
- Materials must be returned to the same library from which they were borrowed.
- You are responsible for any charges for lost or damaged materials.
- Students that do not return items will have "holds" attached to their records that prevent you from registering for classes, obtain transcripts or grades, etc.
- For questions about TexShare contact the Checkout Desk at 512.245.3681 or via email
Article Delivery Service
Alkek Library delivers electronic copies of articles from our print journal collection right to your desktop and is available to faculty at either the San Marcos or Round Rock locations.
Here's how to request an article:
If you have any questions, please feel free to contact the Interlibrary Loan office at 245-4893 or via email.
Research Librarians can provide hands-on instruction sessions.
Library Instruction Request Form
- Please give at least one week notice
- For class sections and small groups
- Schedule a session in the library or have a librarian visit your classroom
- Check Instruction Calendar for available dates
- Requires Texas State NetID login for access