Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Immigration Resources : Home

Introduction

The purpose of this guide is to support students, faculty, and staff at Texas State University and the Monarch Center for Immigrant Students.

Immigration and Migration Studies is a highly interdisciplinary area of research. This guide provides access to resources and thinkers on the wide issues related to immigration and migration studies. Critical race studies and critical migration studies provide a jumping-off point to really interrogate the ways in which both immigration policy and discourse are constructed. In this guide, we will see how the intersection of whiteness, nationalism, and narratives of crisis and criminality have all contributed to both the historical and current narratives of immigration and migration. 

**The guide was originally created by Portland State University Libraries and repurposed with permission to link TXST resources. 

Related Research Guides

Migration Policy Institute Twitter Feed

National Immigration Law Center Twitter Timeline

In This Guide....

Historical photograph

Immigration is a multidisciplinary topic, involving areas as diverse as political science, education, business, and even language and literature. This guide will help you begin your research regarding immigration through the libraries' collections and beyond.

Use the tabs above to navigate through the following pages of the guide: 

Statistics, Law, and Government Information - Find legal information and policies at the state, federal and international level. Also includes data and statistics regarding immigration issues.

Background Resources - Find background information resources on your topic, identify key authors and works.

Policy and Advocacy - Find information on Policy and Advocacy Groups.

Crisis of Immigration - Find select books and ebooks on the crisis and criminalization of immigration. Also contains a recent webinar on this topic.

Undocumented - Find select books and ebooks on undocumented migrants. Also contains two news feeds, as well as links to library licensed films on this topic.

Border Detention - Find select books and ebooks on border detention. Also contains an ACLU video and a news feed on this topic.

Refugees - Find select books and ebooks on refugees. Also contains a webinar on the Dismantling of the U.S. Asylum system as well as a twitter feed from the UNHCR.

Race and Immigration - Find select books and ebooks on race and immigration. Also contains a keynote lecture by Jose Antonio Vargas on the subject.

Find Articles - search for articles online and in print. Recommends the best resources for finding research and case studies in international studies.

 

 

Image: Immigration Queue, Narita Airport, Japan Ⓒ 2006 Andrea Barisani