Ebooks from the Library Collection
The Bullet Journal Method by
New York Times bestseller! A powerful goal-setting and time-management system for anyone trying to organize their lives by the founder of the enormously popular Bullet Journal® planner. For years Ryder Carroll tried countless organizing systems, online and off, but none of them fit the way his mind worked. Out of sheer necessity, he developed a method called the Bullet Journal that helped him become consistently focused and effective. When he started sharing his system with friends who faced similar challenges, it went viral. Just a few years later, to his astonishment, Bullet Journaling is a global movement. The Bullet Journal Method is about much more than organizing your notes and to-do lists. It's about what Carroll calls "intentional living": weeding out distractions and focusing your time and energy in pursuit of what's truly meaningful, in both your work and your personal life. It's about spending more time with what you care about, by working on fewer things. His new book shows you how to... * Track the past: Using nothing more than a pen and paper, create a clear and comprehensive record of your thoughts. * Order the present: Find daily calm by tackling your to-do list in a more mindful, systematic, and productive way. * Design the future: Transform your vague curiosities into meaningful goals, and then break those goals into manageable action steps that lead to big change. Carroll wrote this book for frustrated list-makers, overwhelmed multitaskers, and creatives who need some structure. Whether you've used a Bullet Journal for years or have never seen one before, The Bullet Journal Method will help you go from passenger to pilot of your own life.
Call Number: ebookISBN: 9780525533337Publication Date: 2018-10-23- Bullet journal : das Praxisbuch by Die Bullet-Methode im Detail: Rapid Logging, Key Codes, Kalender mit Jahres-, Monats- und Wochenübersichten Inspiration, jede Menge Ideen und Vorlagen für dein Bullet Journal: Zahlreiche verschiedene Habit Tracker, Achtsamkeit, Tagebuch, Eventplanung, To-do-Listen, Social-Media-Planung u.v.m. Gestalte dein Bullet Journal: Materialkunde für Notizbücher und Stifte Gestaltung mit Schmuckelementen wie Icons, Banner und Rahmen Alphabete für den Einsatz von Schriften Deko mit Washi Tape, Stempeln und Co. Du möchtest besser organisiert sein und alle Notizen an einem Ort zusammenführen? Alles genau so aufschreiben und planen, wie es zu dir am besten passt? Diana zeigt dir in diesem Buch, wie du mit deinem Bullet Journal für dich das optimale Organisationssystem findest, egal ob beruflich oder privat. Du erfährst Schritt für Schritt, wie du startest und welche Elemente du brauchst, um gut zu planen: von deinem individuellen Kalender über die Eventplanung für Feiern wie Hochzeiten und Geburtstage bis hin zur Planung deiner Social- Media-Aktivitäten, Einkäufe und Ausgaben. Aber damit nicht genug: Ein Bullet Journal kann noch so viel mehr. Es bietet dir unendlich viele Möglichkeiten, alles aufzuschreiben, was für dich wichtig ist. In diesem Buch findest du zahlreiche Ideen z.B. für verschiedene Habit Tracker und das Aufschreiben persönlicher Dinge wie Stimmung, Schlaf u.v.m. Oder du nutzt dein Bullet Journal zusätzlich als Tagebuch und Erinnerung an schöne Erlebnisse. Und wenn du gerne kreativ sein möchtest, findest du außerdem viel Inspiration und jede Menge Beispiele zur Gestaltung deines persönlichen Bullet Journals mit Icons, Schriften, Farben und Dekoelementen wie Washi Tape, Stempel und Co. Mit deinem Bullet Journal bist du beruflich und privat immer perfekt organisiert! Aus dem Inhalt: Materialkunde: Notizbücher, Stifte etc. Rapid Logging und Key Codes Kalender mit Future Logs, Jahres-, Monats-, Wochen- und Tagesübersichten Sketchnotes Schriften und Handlettering To-do-Listen Habit Tracker Achtsamkeit Eventplanungen wie z.B. Hochzeiten, Reisen, Geburtstage Social-Media-Planung Dein Bullet Journal als Tagebuch Dein Bullet Journal als Travel Journal Farben und Dekoelemente Über die Autorin: Diana Meier-Soriat gründete 2015 Sketchnotes by Diana und gibt regelmäßig Visualisierungs-Workshops. Sie bietet außerdem Graphic Recordings an oder zeichnet Auftrags-Sketchnotes. Zudem betreibt sie einen Blog, in dem sie ihre Leidenschaft für Bullet Journals sowi...Call Number: e-bookISBN: 9783958457089
YouTube Playlist
What is a Bullet Journal?
A bullet journal (bujo for short) is an all-in-one planner system that you get to design yourself! It can be as simple and minimalist or as elaborate and decorative as you want it to be, and it's flexible enough for you to change your mind on a weekly basis.
The Bullet Journal Method was designed by Ryder Carroll. Read more about him and the system on his website: https://bulletjournal.com/
There are so many customizable options for bullet journaling, you get to choose your style and what to include! See more examples:
- Get Started with a Bullet Journal
- Student Bullet Journal Ideas
- A Bujo Journal Challenge for Beginners
- Bullet Journal Flip Through
Supplies
All you need to get started is a notebook! Many bullet journalers prefer an A5 dot grid journal (popular brands include Leuchtturm1917 and Moleskine) because it allows them more freedom to lay out their spreads, but any notebook you like will work.
As door prizes for the workshop, we bought these journals: https://www.amazon.com/Pack-Dotted-Journal-Notebook-Hardcover/dp/B0778KGTTB. They have extra-thick pages, so there's less bleed-through!
If you prefer a more decorative journal, you may want to build your collection of pens, washi tape, and stickers.
We used these fineliners at the workshop: https://www.amazon.com/Colored-Fineliner-Journaling-Calendar-Supplier/dp/B07Z37GR7Z
Sections
Although you can adapt the Bullet Journal method however you like, there should be some common sections in your notebook:
- Index - this table of contents page will help you find Collections and other spreads you will need to refer back to. Number your pages!
- Daily Log - this list of tasks, events, and ideas is the heart of the Bullet Journal.
- Future Log - tasks that you are not currently working on are listed here until you're ready to schedule them. These lists may be weekly or monthly spreads or may be undated.
- Collections - although the content will vary for each person, these pages will collect information that you want to add to or use regularly.
Your Daily Log is where you will keep track of the tasks, events, important thoughts, and other things that make up your daily life. The Bullet Journal Rapid Logging method allows you to jot all of these pieces of information down in a single list.
At the start of your day, review your Future Log, weekly/monthly spreads, and previous day's notes to see which tasks should be added to the day's to-do list and which events will take place. Keep the list to a realistic, manageable length--you can always add more later if you have an efficient day.
Throughout the day, add new tasks that arise, make a note of any ideas or thoughts that you want to explore later, and mark out what you have completed. Think of your daily log as both a way to capture all your great ideas before you forget anything and a journal describing how you spent your time.
At the end of the day, take a look at the tasks and ideas that are still outstanding and decide what to do next. Some actions you might take include:
- Move an urgent, incomplete task to the next day.
- Move a non-urgent, incomplete task to your Future Log (or weekly/monthly spreads).
- Create a Collection to expand upon an idea.
Read more about Rapid Logging and the key of Bullet Journal symbols at Ryder Carroll's website: https://bulletjournal.com/pages/learn
Hashtags to follow:
Your Future Log is a list of tasks that are important to remember but are not urgent. These tasks may be things that you would like to do sometime in the future, but some may have a date attached. A weekly or monthly spread would be helpful to organize those tasks with a firm deadline.
Hashtags to follow:
A Collection is any grouping of information that exists outside of your regular Daily and Future Logs. Collections are a great way to expand upon ideas or tasks that come up as you go about your day or to keep a record of information that would be useful to have readily available.
You can create Collections at the beginning of the year, or you might add them as the need arises. They are intended to mix in with your Daily Logs (which emphasizes the need for page numbering and an index), but you can choose to devote a section of your notebook to Collections instead.
Possible Collections include:
- A list of friends' and family members' birthdays.
- A list of movies you want to watch or books you want to read.
- A packing list for a trip.
- Planning for a project or paper.
- Study notes.
- Cleaning schedule.
Hashtags to follow:
Trackers are a popular type of Collection that allow you to keep track of various details and data about your life. You may want to track:
- Mood
- Water intake
- Habits
- Spending
- Sleep
Hashtags to follow:
More Ebooks from the Library Collection
20 Ways to Draw a Cat and 44 Other Awesome Animals by
This inspiring sketchbook is part of the new 20 Ways series from Quarry Books, designed to offer artists, designers, and doodlers a fun and sophisticated collection of illustration fun. Each spread features 20 inspiring illustrated examples of 45 themes--cat, giraffe, seal, elephant, whale and much, much more--over 900 drawings, with blank space for you to draw your take on 20 Ways to Draw a Cat. This is not a step-by-step technique book--rather, the stylized animals are simplified, modernized, and reduced to the most basic elements, showing you how simple abstract shapes and forms meld to create the building blocks of any item that you want to draw. Each of the 20 interpretations provides a different, interesting approach to drawing a single item, providing loads of inspiration for your own drawing. Presented in the author's uniquely creative style, this engaging and motivational practice book provides a new take on the world of sketching, doodling, and designing.
Call Number: e-bookISBN: 9781592538386Publication Date: 2013-05-01
20 Ways to Draw a Tulip and 44 Other Fabulous Flowers by
This inspiring sketchbook is part of the new 20 Ways series from Quarry Books, designed to offer artists, designers, and doodlers a fun and sophisticated collection of illustration fun. Each spread features 20 inspiring illustrated examples of 45 themes-tulips, roses, dahlias, and much, much more-over 900 drawings, with blank space for you to draw your take on 20 Ways to Draw a Tulip. This is not a step-by-step technique book--rather, the stylized flowers, snap dragons, and zinnias, are simplified, modernized, and reduced to the most basic elements, showing you how simple abstract shapes and forms meld to create the building blocks of any item that you want to draw. Each of the 20 interpretations provides a different, interesting approach to drawing a single item, providing loads of inspiration for your own drawing. Presented in the author's uniquely creative style, this engaging and motivational practice book provides a new take on the world of sketching, doodling, and designing. Get out your favorite drawing tool, and remember, there are not just 20 Ways to Draw a Tulip!
Call Number: e-bookISBN: 9781592538867Publication Date: 2013-10-15
Creative Illustration Workshop for Mixed-Media Artists by
Whether you have experience drawing or are completely new to it, this exciting workshop-style book provides practical, inspiring, and creative exercises which will expand your drawing skills and provide a framework for integrating illustration with other mixed-media techniques, With a focus on drawing what you love and what is familiar, you will be led through the development of several illustration exercises, which launch from jotted notes and eventually blossom into unique mixed-media creations. You will become familiar with a wide variety of media and approaches to drawing, learn how to work through "creative blocks," and discover ways to scan and layer your illustrations using a computer.
Call Number: View onlineISBN: 9781592536368Publication Date: 2010-11-01
Lettering by
Using a combination of explanatory text, step-by-step photographs and classic and contemporary examples, this unique survey brings together over 130 processes involved in creating lettering and applying it to surfaces. Included are hand-drawn lettering techniques (from sign writing to tattooing); dimensional lettering (hand engraving to laser cutting); typesetting (from letterpress to lettering in food); printing (Letraset to printing on bank notes); lettering on textiles (embroidery to flag-making); and illuminated type (neon signage to holography). Any designer wishing either to create lettering themselves or to commission work from external sources can use the book to look up the technical needs and processes for a particular task, so instantly expanding their repertoire of typographic media.
Call Number: View onlineISBN: 9781856696869Publication Date: 2011-09-21
Lettering & Kalligrafie : Lettergrafie by Call Number: View onlineISBN: 9783747500217Publication Date: 2019
Modern Calligraphy and Hand Lettering by
The book demonstrates the uses of traditional and cutting edge lettering tools, from classic calligraphy pens to bling-producing metallic foils and glue pens. It introduces a wide array of lettering styles with complete alphabets sample artworks that show an application. Fully stepped-out illustrations break down each letterform, taking the reader through each stroke and a large collection of gallery images provides further inspiration for how to use creative lettering in artwork. Calligraphy, the art of elegant, beautiful lettering, has increased in popularity over the last several years. From brides who want to address their wedding invitations to do-it-yourselfers who want to prepare certificates or make a family tree, and even for art journalers and scrapbookers who like creative text in their works, calligraphy books and classes are hot. This new-in-paperback book will spark the interest of the calligraphy novice by introducing a new approach to lettering, one that combines a lively combination of traditional lettering styles, fun and scripty modern styles, and artsy street-style lettering, along with project ideas that incorporate creative lettering.
Call Number: View onlineISBN: 9781592536443Publication Date: 2010-09-01
Pencil Sketching by
The complete, classic guide to the art of pencil sketching Portable. Erasable. Inexpensive. No other single drawing tool is as versatile as the pencil. Through the centuries, generations of artists have used it to work out ideas, study form, and develop fundamental skills that are crucial to an artist's training. Pencil Sketching has taught thousands of beginners the basic principles and techniques of pencil sketching. Carefully revised to meet the needs of today's artists, this edition features easy-to-follow instructions, dozens of new illustrations, and more-everything you need to explore the amazing potential of the pencil and learn to sketch with confidence. Techniques: shading, texture, value, line, strokes . . . Materials: pencils, papers, accessories . . . Skills: observation, recording, composition, sketching from memory . . . Subjects: trees, landforms, water, architecture, cityscapes . . . and more!
Call Number: View onlineISBN: 9780471218050Publication Date: 2002-03-14
Sketching the Moon by
For anyone artistically inclined, observing the Moon and attempting to sketch or paint it can easily become a passion. The Moon presents a broad array of tone, texture, and form. Capturing this in a painting or sketch at the eyepiece of a telescope - or even with binoculars - develops observational skills, leaves a record of the observation, and can also be a delightful and rewarding pastime. However, the choice of media available is extensive (acrylic paint, oils, pen, charcoal, etc., and even computer art programs), and there is no existing text that fully explains all lunar sketching and painting techniques in each respective medium. This beautiful and graphically rich book fulfills this requirement. It presents detailed step-by-step instructions, in the form of illustrated tutorials for every major medium employed to represent the Moon. It also provides practical advice on how to sketch outdoors at night (not ideal conditions for an artist!). This is easily the most extensive book on the subject of lunar art for amateur astronomers, particularly those observing through a telescope. The diverse features of the lunar surface will attract and entice readers to review the number of different media presented, exciting and inspiring them with the possibilities of learning to depict all of the fascinating aspects of Earth's very own satellite.
Call Number: View onlineISBN: 9781461409403Publication Date: 2011-12-01
Start Sketching and Drawing Now by
A complete course for the can't-wait-to-get-started beginner! Got the urge to draw? What are you waiting for?! Getting started is as easy as 1-2-3 with Grant Fuller's Start Sketching & Drawing Now! Packed full of easy and fun techniques, readers will learn to create accurate and expressive likenesses of people, animals, landscapes, and objects. Suddenly rendering even something as mundane as an electrical plug will become an adventure in seeing--and as you'll discover, learning how to really see your subject is half the battle. A progressive series of lessons range from proven exercises for developing hand-eye coordination, expressive line work and keen powers of observation, to creating the illusion of depth and dimension, realistic textures, reflections and more 30 step-by-step demonstrations cover an exciting range of subjects, including still lifes, landscapes, architecture, animals and people Graphite pencil is the featured medium, but charcoal, pen & ink, colored pencils and pastels are also explored Practice is important, of course, but this expert instruction will fast forward you past many hours of trial, error and frustration. With every lesson you'll develop skills and confidence. Get started today with simple materials you may already have or can easily pick up at any major retailer. Before you know it, you'll be able to capture a wide range of subjects with artistic style and vision.
Call Number: View onlineISBN: 9781440309298Publication Date: 2011-10-27
