Librarian
Getting Started
Reference materials are helpful when you are looking for background information or authoritative facts on a subject.
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new windowOver 600 reference books, including encyclopedias, dictionaries (English and foreign language), thesauri, books of quotations, as well as a range of subject-specific reference books. See Political Science.
- Oxford Bibliographies This link opens in a new windowAuthoritative guide to current scholarship in a variety of subjects with recommendations on the best works available whether it be a book chapter, journal article, website, or data set. See Political Science
- Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new windowCurrent edition dictionaries, encyclopedias and thesauri on multiple disciplines and subjects. Simultaneous user limit is 5. See the section on Law
- Oxford Research Encyclopedia of Politics This link opens in a new windowLong-form overview articles written, peer-reviewed, and edited by leading scholars. Covers both foundational and cutting-edge topics in Politics. Continually updated.
- Political Handbook of the World This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive country and intergovernmental organization profiles. Browse by regime type, party system, electoral system, system of government or region. 2008-2011, 2014-present.
Concise Oxford dictionary of politics This dictionary covers political thinkers, institutions, and concepts, the dictionary has an international perspective.
Congressional Quarterly Almanac. Congressional Quarterly, 1955-Congressional Quarterly almanac tells the story of Congress for the year. It is a condensation of acts, amendments, committee activity, debates, hearings, investigations, vital statistics on lawmakers, party policies and votes.
Princeton encyclopedia of American Political History This reference work is intended to provide, authoritative and up-to-date articles on political history of America. Major issues, themes, institutions, processes, and developments as they have been manifest throughout the whole of United States history, from before the decision for independence to the present are discussed.
Encyclopedia of American Public Policy by Byron M. Jackson. ABC-CLIO, 1999.
A highly competent and authoritative resource that will answer a wide variety of questions regularly asked by students studying history, government, economics, and other topics in the social sciences.