Other Citation Styles
The Political Science Student Writer's Manual and Reader's Guide by ISBN: 9781442267091Publication Date: 2016-09-22The Political Science Student Writer's Manual and Reader's Guide is a practical guide to research, reading, and writing in political science. The Political Science Student Writer's Manual and Reader's Guide, Eighth Edition, is a set of instructions and exercises that sequentially develop citizenship, academic, and professional skills while providing students with knowledge about a wide range of political and governmental concepts, phenomena, and information sources. It begins by teaching beginning students to engage newspapers and other political media sources critically and analytically. It focuses on the crafts of writing and scholarship by providing the basics of grammar, style, formats and source citation, and then introduces students to a variety of rich information resources including the Congressional Record, Federal Register, and the Library of Congress. Students actively apply their knowledge and skills by corresponding with their representatives and commenting on pending government regulations. Part 1 concludes with campaign management, policy analysis, legislation assessment, and similar exercises that develop student skilled-observation proficiency. Part 2 prepares students to research, read, write, review, and critique political science scholarship. Finally, Part 3 teaches advanced students how to investigate public opinion; analyze domestic and international public policies; author amicus briefs; and participate in the universal community that deliberates the continuing rich tradition of political philosophy.
AMA Manual of Style by ISBN: 9780190246556Publication Date: 2020-03-02The AMA Manual of Style is a must-have resource for anyone involved in medical, health, and scientific publishing. Written by an expert committee of JAMA Network editors, this latest edition addresses issues that face authors, editors, and publishers in the digital age. Extensive updates are included in the References chapter, with examples of how to cite digital publications, preprints, databases, data repositories, podcasts, apps and interactive games, and social media. Full-color examples grace the chapter on data display, with newer types of graphic presentations and updated guidance on formatting tables and figures. The manual thoroughly covers ethical and legal issues such as authorship, conflicts of interest, scientific misconduct, intellectual property, open access and public access, and corrections. The Usage chapter has been revised to bring the manual up-to-date on word choice, especially in writing about individuals with diseases or conditions and from various socioeconomic, racial/ethnic, and sexual orientation populations. Specific nomenclature entries in many disciplines are presented to guide users in issues of diction, formatting, and preferred terminology. Guidance on numbers, SI units, and math has been updated, and the section on statistics and study design has undergone a major expansion. In sum, the answer to nearly any issue facing a writer or editor in medicine, health care, and related disciplines can be found in the 11th edition of the AMA Manual of Style. Available for institutional purchase or subscription or individual subscription. Visit AMAManualofStyle.com or contact your sales rep for more details.
The Bluebook: A Uniform System of Citation is the go-to guide for law students, lawyers, scholars, judges, and other legal professionals. The manual presents a guide for lawyers for constructing citations, covering the format of citations from a variety of legal sources, including court cases, statutes, books, periodicals, electronic media, and international documents.
Scientific Style and Format: The CSE Manual for Authors, Editors, and Publishers (CSE for Council of Science Editors) used to be called CBE (Council of Biology Editors). However, since most biologists, zoologists, earth scientists, geneticists, and other scientists use one of three systems of documentation specified by CSE, finally they decided to change the name CBE to CSE to be more inclusive.
Other Citation Styles
AAA Style Guide (American Anthropological Association) NOTE -- As of September 9, 2015 AAA announced this: "After much consideration of publishing standards and member input, AAA has decided to cease production of the AAA Style Guide. AAA style now adheres fully to the current edition of the Chicago Manual of Style (Author-Date)." APA is also a preferred Anthropology style as is AJPA Citation Style.
Association of American Geographers (AAG) Style Guide follows the rules outlined in the 15th edition of the Chicago Manual of Style (CMS) and should be consulted for information regarding style, format, and word usage.
AJPA - American Journal of Physical Anthropology Style Guide
American Journal of Physical Anthropology Style Guide (2011) PDF
IEEE Editorial Style Manual (Online)
IEEE Guide to Writing in the Engineering and Technical Fields, First Edition - Ebook
Citation Management
Consider using a citation management software to help keep track of your citations for your bibliography and offers a Web and Desktop version.
EndNote is a citation management tool that enables you to:
► Organize your research Include citations while you write your paper
► Build a bibliography in a variety of formats
►Import references from library databases and Google Scholar.
See Also: Canvas EndNote Modules | EndNote Web Tutorials | EndNote Desktop Tutorials | Desktop Styles Download
Zotero is a free, open-access tool developed by an independent, nonprofit organization that has no financial interest in your private information. Zotero lets you:
► Attach images, notes, and PDFs to your citations
► Organize and tag your citations into collections and folders for different projects
► Create bibliographies automatically as well as in-text citations
► Share references and research information with a group
It's easy to use and connects with your web browser to download sources. The free version provides 300 MB of storage space and additional storage is available for a fee.
See Also: Quick-Start Guide | Get Help with Zotero | Zotero FAQs | User Forums | ZoteroBib
Zotero: A Guide for Librarians, Researchers, and Educators / Jason Puckett.