Search Tips
Search by keywords and "short phrases". Maximize your keyword searches with Boolean searching.
- AND
- OR
- NOT
Use "quotation marks" to search for whole phrases.
Use the database’s built in limiting features like Peer Review and Date.
Consider truncation. The symbol used is usually *.
AGRICULTUR* will retrieve: agriculture, agricultural
Consider synonyms in addition to the keywords you are searching in the databases.
Searching for Full Text
If you come across a citation to an article and you'd like to track down its full text, follow the steps below:
-
Start Your Research (SYR)1. When searching for the full text of an article, start by searching the "title of an article" (enclosed in "quotation marks") in SYR.
-
Journals/Periodicals Search2. If you're unable to locate the fulltext by searching the article title in SYR, next try searching the "journal title" in the searchable list of print/online journals accessible through the University Libraries.
-
Interlibrary Loan (ILL)3. If the Library does not have print/online access to a journal you need an article from, request a copy of the article via ILL.
| Citation Management
Have a lot of citations you want to enter in your works cited/references list? Try a citation manager.
Do you need the Web or Desktop version?
-
EndNoteA citation management tool that enables you to:
- Organize your research Include citations while you write your paper
- Build a bibliography in a variety of formats
- Import references from library databases and Google Scholar.