Online Encyclopedias & Dictionaries
Online Encyclopedias and Dictionaries:
New Dictionary of the History of Ideas by
"From abolitionism to Zionism, this encyclopedia clarifies the intellectual history of more than 750 complex ideas of concern to people today. Like its classic predecessor, the Dictionary of the History of Ideas (1973), this new set covers core Western ideas, while expanding its coverage to include the 'global perspectives and gender-inclusive' concepts that have evolved in the past 30 years. Reader's guides, cross-references, sidebars, and an index aid the reader in understanding the way ideas combine with other ideas."--"Reference that rocks," American Libraries, May 2005.
ISBN: 0684314525Publication Date: 2004-12-01
The Oxford Dictionary of Philosophy by
This best-selling dictionary is written by one of the most famous philosophers of our time, and it is widely recognized as the best dictionary of its kind. Comprehensive and authoritative, it covers every aspect of philosophy from Aristotle to Zen. With clear and concise definitions, itprovides lively and accessible coverage of not only Western philosophical traditions, but also themes from Chinese, Indian, Islamic, and Jewish philosophy.Entries include over 500 biographies of famous and influential philosophers, in-depth analysis of philosophical terms and concepts, and a chronology of philosophical events stretching from 10,000 BC to the present day. The first edition of this dictionary became a market-leader and a standard workof reference, selling over 100,000 copies. Now the author, Professor Simon Blackburn, has revised it to include web links which provide up-to-date and valuable extra information via the Dictionary of Philosophy companion website.Fully cross-referenced and containing over 3,000 alphabetical entries, it is the ideal introduction to philosophy for anyone with an interest in the subject, and it is an indispensable work of reference for students and teachers.
Call Number: B41 .B53ISBN: 9780199541430Publication Date: 2008-10-02
New at Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy
The Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy is a collaborative website whose contributors are all experts in the field of philosophy. This resource is great for bibliographies and an overview of what's known. Below is a continuously updated list of newly published or edited articles.
Loading ...