Primary Sources in Print and Online
Primary sources--such as original documents, letters, diaries, interviews, works of art, and oral histories, can often be found collected in print volumes. University Libraries has a wide array of print primary sources in its collection. Below is a sample of some of the resources that you can find but remember, this is only a sample, so use Start Your Research.
Kant: the Metaphysics of Morals
The Metaphysics of Morals is Kant's final major work in moral philosophy. In it, he presents the basic concepts and principles of right and virtue and the system of duties of human beings as such.
Call Number: B2785.E5 G7413 1996
Kierkegaard's Journals and Notebooks
For over a century, the Danish thinker Søren Kierkegaard (1813-55) has been at the center of a number of important discussions, concerning not only philosophy and theology, but also, more recently, fields such as social thought, psychology, and contemporary aesthetics, especially literary theory.
Call Number: Ebook
On Liberty and the Subjection of Women by
A prodigiously brilliant thinker who sharply challenged the beliefs of his age, the political and social radical John Stuart Mill was the most influential English-speaking philosopher of the nineteenth century. Each essay first published separately: On liberty, in 1859; The subjection of women, in 1869.
Call Number: JC585 .M6 1873Publication Date: 1873
A Vindication of the Rights of Woman: with Strictures on Political and Moral Subjects
Written by Mary Wollstonecraft, this book is one of the earliest works of feminist philosophy. In it, Wollstonecraft responds to those educational and political theorists of the 18th century who did not believe women should have an education. Also available in print: Tisch Book Stacks HQ1596 .W6 1967
Call Number: Available as an Ebook In Early American Imprints DatabaseThe War Diaries of Jean-Paul Sartre Presents a series of notes on philosophy, literature, politics, history and autobiography that anticipate the themes of Sartre's later masterpieces.
Call Number: Alkek In-House Storage, Floor 4 PQ2637.A82 Z46313 1985
Primary Source Databases
Databases come from the Primary Resources page found on the Databases by Type page.
- Gale Primary Sources This link opens in a new windowVariety of primary sources from the 15th to the 21st centuries. Includes 19th Century UK Periodicals; 19th Century US Newspapers; Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO); The Making of the Modern World: The Goldsmiths-Kress Library of Economic Literature, 1450-1850; 17th and 18th Century Burney Collection Newspapers; Archives Unbound; Times Digital Archive; Illustrated London News Historical Archive; Sunday Times Digital Archive; American Civil Liberties Union Papers, 1912-1990; Archives of Sexuality & Gender; Archives Unbound; Associated Press Collections; British Library Newspapers; Sabin Americana, 1500-2013; Religions of America.
- HathiTrust Digital Library This link opens in a new window
A digital collective of books and journals from numerous academic and research libraries around the world.
- Early American Imprints, Series I: Evans, 1639-1800 Series II: Shaw-Shoemaker, 1801-1819 and Caribbean History & Culture, 1535-1920 This link opens in a new window
Contains virtually every book, pamphlet, and broadside published in the American colonies or the United States between 1639 and 1920.
- Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers This link opens in a new windowLocal U.S. newspapers with select digitization of historic pages, representing a state's regional history, geographic coverage, and events in a particular time period. 1690-present
- African American Experience This link opens in a new window
Contributions to arts, entertainment, sciences, business, military, and politics from prominent individuals as well as nameless others who endured the travails of slavery and institutionalized discrimination. Late 1700s to present.
