Key Terms
Full text: means you can read the article on the screen immediately
Index: a list of published articles (and often books and other things), usually arranged around a common theme or subject
Abstract: a brief description of the article, often summarizing the argument
Suggested Databases
Databases come from the Philosophy Databases by Subject page.
- Humanities Source and Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective This link opens in a new window
Encompasses all key fields of the humanities. Includes articles, interviews, obituaries, original works of fiction, drama, poetry, and reviews. Indexing from 1900, full text from 1909 to present.
- Philosopher's Index This link opens in a new window
Informative, author-written abstracts covering scholarly research in all areas of philosophy. Indexing covers journal articles, books, book chapters such as contributions to an anthology, and book reviews. 1940 to present.
Finding Dissertations
- Dissertations & Theses Global This link opens in a new windowWorld's largest collection of full-text theses and dissertations. 1861 to present.
- OpenDissertations This link opens in a new window
Full text of dissertations from universities between 1933 and 1955, plus additional indexing to more recent dissertations.
Start Your Research & Google Scholar
- Start Your Research This link opens in a new windowSearch multiple databases and different types of content together. Databases searched include the library's catalog, Texas State Digital Collections repository, and many but not all Texas State licensed databases.
- Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Searches scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts, and technical reports.