| Google Scholar |
Google Scholar can be a useful tool when collecting research information. Settings can be updated to display:
Library Links - FindIt@Txstate
Bibliography Manager - EndNote (refers to Desktop EndNote)
- Ulrich'sTo find out if a journal is considered Refereed/Peer-Reviewed, check the Ulrich's database by doing a search for the title of the journal. Many library databases allow searches to be limited to articles published in Peer-Reviewed journals.
Databases
Try Start Your Research first! Search results can be limited to citations from Peer Reviewed journals.
- BioOne Complete This link opens in a new window
High-impact bioscience research journals, many published by small societies and not-for-profit publishers. 1965 to present.
- BIOSIS Citation Index (Web of Science) This link opens in a new window
Biological research, medical research findings, and discoveries of new organisms. Contains original research reports and reviews in botany, zoology, microbiology, agriculture, pharmacology, and ecology. 1926-present
- CAB Abstracts & Archive This link opens in a new window
Index of scholarship and research in the areas of agriculture, environment, human health, human nutrition, animal health, and the management and conservation natural resources. 1910-present.
- CINAHL Ultimate This link opens in a new windowThe main nursing and allied health database containing full-text articles, clinical innovations, critical paths, drug records, research instruments, and clinical trials, as well as citations to books, dissertations, and conference proceedings. 1937 to present.
- MEDLINE Complete This link opens in a new windowA comprehensive database providing access to biomedical and health journals. An important resource for doctors, nurses, health professionals and researchers engaged in clinical care, public health and health policy development. 1865 to present.
- SPORTDiscus with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Articles on all aspects of sport, sport science, fitness, health education, physical therapy, leisure studies, and occupational health. International in scope. 1800s to present.
- Sports Medicine & Education Index This link opens in a new windowArticles from peer-reviewed journals, reports, conference proceedings, magazines, and other sources. 1970 to present.
Peer Review, Explained
Libraries subscribe to various types of periodicals, such as scholarly (some of which may be peer-reviewed, blind peer-reviewed, editorial review) popular, or trade publications. Choosing which to use depends on your topic, the type of writing you are doing, your assignment, and the sources your professor wants you to use. Many databases offer the option to limit to "Peer Reviewed". If you're not sure if a journal is considered peer-reviewed, check Ulrich's by looking up the title of the journal.
What is a peer-reviewed journal?
A scholarly/academic journal is peer-reviewed when manuscripts are sent to experts, sometimes anonymously (blind peer-reviewed), in the related field. They make recommendations to editor for publication, rejection or revision. These journals are generally thought to be of the highest quality.