Why should I use a library database?
Databases are an efficient search tool when you're conducting research because they search multiple topics and various formats simultaneously. Instead of searching through multiple academic journals, statistics, case studies, company profiles, and more.
This page has several databases that are frequently used in the School of Journalism and Mass Communication.
Visit the Research Databases page to access more databases available through Alkek Library.
Periodicals/Full Text Finder
Use Periodical List to search for an academic journal, magazine, or newspaper. You may also browse journals by discipline.
Full Text Finder checks multiple library databases in order to located a full text of an article.
Business Trends, Case Studies, & More
- ABI/Inform Global This link opens in a new windowDatabase covering several topics, including companies, products, business trends, corporate strategies, data processing, finance, marketing, advertising, and more.
- Business Source Complete This link opens in a new windowDatabase including full text articles, investment, industry, company, market research reports, case studies, company profiles, and financial data. Includes SWOT analyses and 55 videos from the Harvard Business School Faculty Seminar Series.
- Communication Source This link opens in a new windowDatabase covering topics of communication, mass media, public relations, and more.
Simmons Insight/MRI
Market Profiles, Demographics, Psychoanalytics
- Ad*Access This link opens in a new window
Over 7,000 U.S. and Canadian magazine and newspaper advertisements in five product categories - Beauty and Hygiene, Radio, Television, Transportation, and World War II propaganda. 1911-1955.
- Marketresearch.com Academic This link opens in a new windowMarket research reports on these industries: service, consumer goods, food & beverage, heavy Industry, public sector, technology & media.
- Claritas 360 This link opens in a new windowDetailed analysis of consumers and markets to create successful marketing strategies.
- Passport This link opens in a new window
A global market information database with extensive industry, company, country and consumer reports and statistics. The most detailed information can be found in Cooking Ingredients & Meals, Dairy Products & Alternatives, Snacks, and Staple Foods.
- SimplyAnalytics This link opens in a new windowExtensive demographic, business and marketing data from sources such as census data from 2000 and 2010,Current Estimates, Five Year Projections, the Experian SimmonsLOCAL and Nielsen Claritas PRIZM Data Packages. Coverage: 2000-present. 10 simultaneous users.
- SRDS Online This link opens in a new windowContains advertising and marketing sources and research from websites, print (consumer magazines, newspapers, business publications), demographic market areas for TV and radio, out of home media, and international media guides for consumers and newspapers worldwide.
- MRI Simmons Catalyst This link opens in a new window
Contains demographic information about American consumers; products they use, income and education level, what types of media they prefer. Data is at least two years old. For this resource, it is important to logout before closing your browser window.
