Start Your Research & Google Scholar
- Start Your Research This link opens in a new window
Search multiple databases and different types of content together. Databases searched include the library's catalog, Texas State Digital Collections repository, and many but not all Texas State licensed databases.
- Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Searches scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts, and technical reports.
Gathering Backgound Information
Searching encyclopedias other reference materials is a great way to gather background information. Some of these links were taken from the Dictionaries & Encyclopedias Databases by Type page.
- Stanford Encyclopedia of PhilosophyThe Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy organizes scholars from around the world in philosophy and related disciplines to create and maintain an up-to-date reference work.
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Over 600 reference books, including encyclopedias, dictionaries (English and foreign language), thesauri, books of quotations, as well as a range of subject-specific reference books.
- Oxford Reference: PhilosophyLimited to Philosophy subject dictionaries and encyclopedias.
Philosophy & Humanities Databases
Databases come from the Philosophy Databases by Subject page.
- Humanities Source and Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective This link opens in a new window
Encompasses all key fields of the humanities. Includes articles, interviews, obituaries, original works of fiction, drama, poetry, and reviews. Indexing from 1900, full text from 1909 to present.
- Philosopher's Index This link opens in a new window
Informative, author-written abstracts covering scholarly research in all areas of philosophy. Indexing covers journal articles, books, book chapters such as contributions to an anthology, and book reviews. 1940 to present.
Finding Dissertations
Databases come from the Dissertations & Theses Databases by Type page.
- Dissertations & Theses Global This link opens in a new windowWorld's largest collection of full-text theses and dissertations. 1861 to present.
- OpenDissertations This link opens in a new window
Full text of dissertations from universities between 1933 and 1955, plus additional indexing to more recent dissertations.
Primary Resource Databases
Databases come from the Primary Resources page found on the Databases by Type page.
- Gale Primary Sources This link opens in a new windowVariety of primary sources from the 15th to the 21st centuries. Includes 19th Century UK Periodicals; 19th Century US Newspapers; Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO); The Making of the Modern World: The Goldsmiths-Kress Library of Economic Literature, 1450-1850; 17th and 18th Century Burney Collection Newspapers; Archives Unbound; Times Digital Archive; Illustrated London News Historical Archive; Sunday Times Digital Archive; American Civil Liberties Union Papers, 1912-1990; Archives of Sexuality & Gender; Archives Unbound; Associated Press Collections; British Library Newspapers; Sabin Americana, 1500-2013; Religions of America.
- HathiTrust Digital Library This link opens in a new window
A digital collective of books and journals from numerous academic and research libraries around the world.
- Latin American Open Archives Portal This link opens in a new window
Scholarly Latin American cultural, historical and social research published by research institutes, non-governmental organizations, and agencies not controlled by commercial publishers. Includes working documents, pre-prints, research papers, and statistical documents.
- Latin American Pamphlet Digital Collection This link opens in a new window
Latin American primary resources on cultural life, boundary disputes, religion, and politics. 19th and early 20th century
- Latino American Experience This link opens in a new windowExplores the rich heritage and current culture of Mexicans, Puerto Ricans, Guatemalans, Cubans, Dominicans, Colombians, Ecuadorians, and other Hispanic cultures in the United States. Content is in English and Spanish. Dates vary.