ED 7318: Adult Learning: Home

Reference Material in the form of subject dictionaries, encyclopedias, and handbooks typically provide background essays, definitions, broad overviews of various topics, or other pertinent facts. Search collections like Sage Knowledge or Credo Reference.

Corsini Encyclopedia of Psychology and Behavioral Science
Encyclopedia of Social Science Research Methods
International Encyclopedia of the Social & Behavioral Sciences
Oxford Bibliographies, various subjects, including African Studies
Review of Research in Education
Texas Higher Education Almanac

Highlighted Resource: Sage Research Methods, Includes little green and blue books, *Design a Research Project (project planner), data sets, reference material, tutorials, case study videos, expert interviews, and more. Covers every aspect of the research process and methods to develop practical skills necessary for conducting successful research. Videos show qualitative, quantitative, and mixed methods in action and can be embedded into course management systems.

Topics:

1. mentorship applications to adult learning; understanding how motives of adult learning can be applied in mentorship applications. 
2. why corporations don't invest in training and developing their front-line employees/personnel. (may need to also just search employees/personnel, leave off frontline) for a search like this.
3. research related to closing the wide wealth gap between African societies & the Western world through Adult Education. a search for this topic related to wealth gap + africa + "education" works. a search on africa + "adult education" can be run without "wealth gap"
4. research on how to offer education to marginalized teen mothers and malnourished families in Rwanda to gauge the long-term impact on these groups.  
5. interested in the relationship between (adult) educational programming and cultural heritage/community-based organizations.  
6. research pertaining to the educational programs made available to adult inmates in both State and Federal prisons, along with the effectiveness of these programs regarding the reformed inmates being released back into society to help foster decreased recidivism rates. 
7. experiences of the LGBTQIA+ population in the southern United States in higher education. Specifically, I would like to look at the growing transgender community and how this population navigates their university experience.  
8. somatic learning and how the body is utilized and ignored in adult education. I am also interested in the connections between learning and health while encountering serious illness, specifically cancer.  
9. research related to motivation for adult learning and education in recent Mexican Immigrants versus multi-generational Mexican Immigrants.