Getting Started
Reference Material in the form of subject dictionaries, encyclopedias, and handbooks typically provide background essays, definitions, broad overviews of various topics, or other pertinent facts. Search across a collection of titles like Sage eReference
Corsini Encyclopedia of Psychology and Behavioral Science
International Encyclopedia of the Social & Behavioral Sciences
Oxford Bibliographies
Oxford Research Encyclopedia of Education
Review of Research in Education
Highlighted Resource: Sage Research Methods, Includes little green and blue books, *Design a Research Project (project planner), data sets, reference material, tutorials, case study videos, expert interviews, and more. Covers every aspect of the research process and methods to develop practical skills necessary for conducting successful research. Videos show qualitative, quantitative, and mixed methods in action and can be embedded into course management systems.
Rights awareness in adult learners:
- How do adult, professional, and nontraditional students understand information about their rights related to harassment, discrimination, disability accommodations, etc?
- Do adult learners understand compliance (related to TIX, Clery, ADA, etc.)? Are there barriers to this information for adult learners?
Andragogy and ethics
- Adult education that addresses the topics of information hiding and ethical lapses within the funeral service industry. The goal is to investigate potentially andragogical principles that delve into transparency and ethical decision-making.
- impact of training professionals
- application of ethical and communication skills with newer adult learners within mortuary science programs
Biases in Texas Examinations of Educator Standards
My research will focus on investigating and uncovering potential biasness (if any) that may exist in the language incorporated into the Texas Examinations of Educator Standards (TExES) exams (to include the Pedagogy and Professional Responsibility - PPR - exam) that every prospective teacher and experienced teacher must pass to meet the educational requirements for becoming a certified classroom teacher in the State of Texas. Such language biasness could be depicted as intended barriers to prevent prospective teachers of color (TOC), experienced TOC, and immigrant teachers from being successful on the State teacher exams.
- Question 1) Are intended language barriers set in place on Texas teacher certification exams (TExES and/or PPR) to stifle the success of prospective TOC, experienced TOC, and immigrant teachers from being successful at passing the exams, thus preventing them from becoming certified classroom teachers.
- Question 2) How do prospective teachers of color (TOC), experienced TOC, and immigrant teachers argue that the State teacher examinations are flawed with intentional language barriers aimed at preventing certain cultures of test-takers from achieving success on the exams?
How family histories (maybe "cultural influences" or "cultural factors" or "family influence*") shape the educational aspirations of Latin American immigrant women and the challenges with MS
- How family histories shape the educational aspirations of Latin American immigrant women
- Exploring family histories of Native American adult students and how those experiences have shaped their educational journeys
- How adults with "multiple sclerosis" and other neurological diseases (search specific related diseases) navigate educational challenges ( maybe you'll need to use examples of educational challenges)
Educational Frameworks
How can adult education frameworks be applied to identify and develop transferable skills, including soft skills, in non-research administrators to support their recruitment into research administration careers?