Skip to Main Content

ED 7364: Team Development in Education : Finding Articles

Search Tips

Search by keywords/small phrases and use Boolean searching. Works well in library databases, Google Scholar can do it to some extent under Advanced Search.

AND: "special education" AND disproportion*
OR:  "social media" OR twitter OR "tiktok"

Using "Quotation Marks" searches words as a phrase, "young adult". Works in library databases and Google Scholar

Limit search results by Date and Peer-Reviewed journals.   

Consider truncation. The symbol used is usually *. Useful technique, but only works in library databases.

adolescen* will retrieve: adolescent, adolescents, adolescence, etc. 

Check Subject terms to see if there are any synonym terms to consider in your search. This only applies to library databases, as Google Scholar is only keyword searching, but keep an eye out for various terms you read in articles.

Searching for Full Text

If you come across a citation to an article and you'd like to track down its full text, follow the steps below:

The example below shows that The Journal of Continuing Higher Education is accessible in print/microform as well as online. The entry also shows coverage dates to indicate which years are accessible. 

Google Scholar


Google Scholar can be a useful tool when collecting research information. Settings can be updated to display:

Library Links - FindIt@Txstate
Bibliography Manager - EndNote (for Desktop EndNote)

***For EndNote Web, under Downloads, use Capture Reference.