ED 7364: Team Development in Education : Home

Reference Material in the form of subject dictionaries, encyclopedias, and handbooks typically provide background essays, definitions, broad overviews of various topics, or other pertinent facts. Search across a collection of titles like Sage eReference.

International Encyclopedia of the Social & Behavioral Sciences
International Encyclopedia of the Social Sciences
Review of Research in Education
Texas Public Higher Education Almanac

Oxford Research Encyclopedia of Education (click second bullet: Browse the growing collection of articles, overviews and key subject works.)

Topic Ideas:

Dissemination and training of trauma-informed care to school and clinical professionals: Ameliorating effects of trauma in contemporary ABA (Applied Behavior Analysis) practices

• "trauma informed care" or "trauma informed practice" or "trauma informed approach" or "trauma sensitive schools"
• "applied behavior analysis" or  "applied behaviour analysis" or aba -- I did find some articles that just used the phrase "behavior analysis"

Chicane children’s literature as a catalyst for the building of healthy identities and strong communities in the classroom and beyond. I am interested in how Chicana teachers see their own identities and connect to Chicane children’s literature in nurturing classroom spaces that foster the development of healthy identities and strong communities with young children. Presently, we are seeing legislation, policy, and practices that attack assets-based teaching, the teaching of accurate histories, and cultural wealth communities of Color. This includes the censoring and elimination of multicultural children’s literature which have detrimental effects on all children, especially children of Color. I want to illuminate the powerful practices that support the nurturing of children’s identities and academic trajectories when they engage with a curriculum that reflects their own linguistic and cultural backgrounds as well as those of others. As scholar, Rudine Simms-Bishop has stated children’s literature that serves as “mirrors, windows, and sliding doors” is a powerful tool for dialogic assets-based instruction.

• latinx or latinos or hispanics or chicanos or latinas or mexican or multicultural
• "children's literature" or "children's book*" or "picture book*" or "children's picture book*" or "juvenile literature" or "young adult literature" or "YA literature"
• censor* or ban*

effective behavioral strategies for African Americans males and their effectiveness of reducing repetitive behavioral disruptions in public schools. 

• "african american*" or blacks
• male* or boys
• reduc* or decreas* or eliminat* or minimiz*
• repeat* or recurrence or recurrent or reoccurence
• misbehavior or "disruptive behavio*" or "behavio* problem*" or "challenging behavio*"
• "public school*"

instructional practices promote or hinder Latinx students’ literacy development. 

• "instruction* strateg*" or "best practice*" or "teaching method*" or "instructional practices"
• hinder or impediment* or hindrance* or impede / promote or enhance or improve or facilitate
• latinx or latinos or hispanics or chicanos or latinas or mexican
• literacy or reading or writing

improving student behaviors in the Deaf Education population using Gracious Space and/or Restorative Practices approach rather than being punitive. It may be too specific if I target it only in Deaf Education as there are no literature reviews but there are a ton of literature reviews on Restorative Practices and improving student behaviors including strategies.   

• deaf* or "hard of hearing" or "hearing impaired" or d/hh
• "restorative practice*" or "restorative approach" or "restorative conversations"
• "student behavio*" or "challenging behavio*"
• strategies or approaches

In America’s multicultural society, schools need to be culturally responsible regarding how they use colors. Each culture has meanings for colors, and using the wrong color in certain contexts can cause confusion or offense. In mainstream American culture, white is associated with purity and new beginnings, whereas other cultures associate it with mourning and sadness. Another example is the color red; some cultures see red as a sign of love and others as danger. Our failure to consider these cultural differences can lead to misunderstandings and widen the cultural divide. There is a need to develop awareness and better understand how these nuances affect our multicultural elementary students and how we can become more culturally responsible regarding color.

• cultur*
• "color meaning*" or "meaning of color*"