BIO 7361A: Discipline-Based Educational Research Methods

• Include page numbers in in-text citations when citing quoted material.

R: Author, A. A. (Year). Title of work in sentence case and italics. ArXiv. DOI or URL

R: Barterra, K. (2023). Great grapes throughout history. ArXiv. https://doi.org/10.48550/arXiv.9999.9999999

T: (Barterra, 2023)

R: Author, A. A. or Screen Name. (Full date). Title of post in sentence case. Title of Blog in Title Case and Italics. URL

T: (Screen Name or Author, year)

R: Dubner, S. J. (2014, June 25). The quality-quantity tradeoff dilemma. Freakonomics. https://freakonomics.com/2014/06/25/the-quality-quantity-tradeoff-dilemma/

T: (Dubner, 2014)

R: Author, A. A. or Screen Name. (Full date). Re: Title of original blog post in sentence case [Comment on the blog post "Title of blog post in sentence case"]. URL

T: (Screen Name or Author, year)

R: MiddleKid. (2007, January 5). Re: The unfortunate prerequisites and consequences of partitioning your mind [Comment on the blog post "Has anyone seen my sanity?"]. https://scienceblogs.com/pharyngula/2007/01/22/the-unfortunate-prerequisites/

T: (MiddleKid, 2007)

• Include page numbers in in-text citations when citing quoted material.
• For translated works, see the translations rule.

R: Author, A. A. (Year). Title of book in sentence case and italics [Audiobook]. Publisher.

T: (Author, year, locator)

R: Thorton, K. (2023). My life in the stacks: A memoir of decimals, decibels, and cold spaghetti [Audiobook]. Silly Triangle Press.

T: (Thorton, 2023, loc. 1:27:23)

R: Author, A. A. (Year). Title of chapter in sentence case. In B. B. Editor & C. C. Editor (Eds.), Title of book in sentence case and italics (xx ed., pp. starting page of chapter–ending page of chapter). Publisher.

T: (Author, year)

R: Haynes, P. (2009). Al-Qaeda, oil dependence, and US foreign policy. In D. Moran & J. A. Russell (Eds.), Energy security and global politics: The militarization of resource management (2nd ed., pp. 62–74). Routledge.

T: (Haynes, 2009, p. 70)

R: Author, A. A., Author, B. B., & Author, C. C. (Year). Title of chapter in sentence case. In D. D. Editor (Ed.), Title of book in sentence case and italics (pp. starting page of chapter–ending page of chapter).  Publisher.

T: (Author A et al., year)

R: Cordesman, A. H., Mausner, A., & Kasten, D. (2009). Introduction. In J. Smith (Ed.), Winning in Afghanistan: Creating effective Afghan security forces (pp. 1–12). Center for Strategic and International Studies.

T (first citation): (Cordesman et al., 2009, pp. 2–3)

R: Author, A. A. (Year). Title of book in sentence case and italics. [E-reader version]. DOI or URL or Name of Database in Title Case

T: (Author, year, location information)

DOI or URL  Zotero 

R: Bonds, M. E. (2014). Absolute music: The history of an idea. https://doi.org/10.1093/acprof:oso/9780199343638.003.0004

T: (Bonds, 2014, Chapter 3, para. 1)

From book provider  Zotero 

R: Krishnan, A. (2008). War as business: Technological change and military service contracting [Kindle DX version]. https://www.amazon.com

T: (Krishnan, 2008)

From library database  Zotero 

R: Crabtree, J., & Chaplin, A. (2013). Bolivia: Processes of change. ProQuest

T: (Crabtree & Chaplin, 2013)

R: Author, A. A. (Year). Title of book in sentence case and italics. Publisher.

T: (Author, year)

R: Pollan, M. (2006). The omnivore's dilemma: A natural history of four meals. Penguin.

T: (Pollan, 2006)

R: Author, A. A., & Author, B. B. (Year). Title of book in sentence case and italics (edition number). Publisher.

T: (Author A & Author B, year)

R: Strindberg, A., & Wärn, M. (2011). Islamism: Religion, radicalization and resistance (2nd ed.). John Wiley and Sons.

T: (Strindberg & Wärn, 2011)

R: Author, A. A., Author, B. B., & Author, C. C. (Year). Title of book in sentence case and italics. Publisher.

T: (Author A et al., year)

R: Cordesman, A. H., Mausner, A., & Kasten, D. (2009). Winning in Afghanistan: Creating effective Afghan security forces. Center for Strategic and International Studies.

T: (Cordesman et al., 2009, pp. 45–46)

• When citing a direct quotation from an electronic book without page numbers, include as much information as needed for the reader to locate the material. The citation might include a chapter number, section heading, location number, or paragraph number within the section.

• Class notes include lecture notes, slides, and any other course-related material published by an instructor.
• If slides, lecture, class notes are not available to your readers, format as a personal communication using professor's / lecturer's name and type of medium (e.g., "class notes," "PowerPoint slides").
• Class notes and lectures published to your online course site are considered unpublished.

R: Instructor, A. A. (Year). Title of notes in sentence case and italics [Class notes for/on . . . ]. Department, University. DOI or URL

T: (Instructor, year)

R: Johnson, J. (2017). Python NumPy tutorial [Class notes for CS231n: Convolutional Neural Networks for Visual Recognition]. Department of Computer Science, Stanford University. https://cs231n.github.io/python-numpy-tutorial/

T: (Johnson, 2017)

R: Author, A. A. (Year of presentation). Title of lecture in sentence case and italics [Lecture] or [Description of lecture in sentence case]. Venue, location. DOI or URL

T: (Author, year)

R: Horse, B. B. (2020). Horseshoes and hand grenades: On the joys of approximation [Lecture]. Belmont Race Track, Elmont, NY, United States. https://horse.edu/

T: (Horse, 2020)

R: Do not include in references list if not publicly available

T: (A. Author, class notes, Month and day of class, year)

R: None

T: (D. Bray, PowerPoint slides, March 26, 2017)

Presentation or Workshop

Zotero 

R: Author, A. A. (Full date). Title of presentation in sentence case and italics [Presentation or Workshop]. Name of Event, Location. DOI or URL

T: (Author, year)

R: Randall, L. (2002, July 19). Unification in warped extra dimensions and bulk holography [Presentation]. Holography in Action, Cambridge, MA, United States. https://04.phf-site.com/2016/12/strings-2002-at-cavendish-laboratory.html

T: (Randall, 2002)

• Cite the software you use in your research if it is not well known in your field.
• Do not cite the software you use in your research if it is well known in your field. Simply name it in your text.
• However, a citation is always required if paraphrasing or quoting material from a software program; this includes code, text, images, etc.

R: Author, A. A. or Company. (Year). Title in sentence case and italics (Version number) [Computer software]. Publisher.

T: (Author, year)

R: Esolang, A. N. (2014). Obscure reference generator [Computer software]. E & K Press.

T: (Esolang, 2014)

R: Author, A. A., Author, B. B., Author, C. C., & Author, D. D. or Company. (Year). Title in sentence case and italics (Version number) [Computer software]. Publisher. DOI or URL

T: (Author A et al., year)

R: Borenstein, M., Hedges, L., Higgins, J., & Rothstein, H. (2005). Comprehensive meta-analysis (Version 2) [Computer software]. Biostat. https://www.meta-analysis.com/index.html

T: (Borenstein et al., 2005)

• Include page numbers in in-text citations when citing quoted material.

R: Author, A. A., Author, B. B., Author, C. C., . . . & Author, Z. Z. (Year). Title of article in sentence case. Title of Proceedings or Collection in Title Case and Italics, volume in italics, starting page of article–ending page of article. DOI or URL

T (first citation): (Author A et al., year)

How to cite multiple authors

R: Morentz, J. W., Doyle, C., Wong, Skelly, L. & Adam, N. (2009). Unified Incident Command and Decision Support (UICDS) a Department of Homeland Security initiative in information sharing. 2009 IEEE Conference on Technologies for Homeland Security, 182–187. https://doi.org/10.1109/THS.2009.5168032

T (first citation): (Morentz et al., 2009, p. 185)

R: Author, A. A., Author, B. B., Author, C. C., . . . & Author, Z. Z. (Year). Title of article in sentence case. In A. A. Editor, B. B. Editor, C. C. Editor, . . . & Z. Z. Editor (Eds.), Title of Proceedings or Collection in Title Case and Italics (pp. x–xxx).

T: (Author A et al., year)

R: Katz, I., Gabayan, K., & Aghajan, H. (2007). A multi-touch surface using multiple cameras. In J. Blanc-Talon, W. Philips, D. Popescu, & P. Scheunders (Eds.), Lecture Notes in Computer Science: Vol. 4678. Advanced Concepts for Intelligent Vision Systems (pp. 97–108).

T: (Katz et al., 2007)

R: Author, A. A., Author, B. B., Author, C. C., . . . & Author, Z. Z. (Full date). Title of paper in sentence case and italics [Paper presentation]. Conference Name, Location. DOI or URL

T: (Author A et al., year)

R: Teplin, L. A., McClelland, G. M., Abram, K. M., & Washburn, J. J. (2005, January 7). Early violent death in delinquent youth: A prospective longitudinal study [Paper presentation]. Annual Meeting of the American Psychology-Law Society, La Jolla, CA, United States.

T: (Teplin et al., 2005) 

R: Author, A. A. or Organization. (Year). Title in sentence case and italics (Version number) [Data set]. Organization if not listed as the author. DOI or URL

T: (Author or Organization, year)

R: Suro, R. (2004). Changing channels and crisscrossing culture: A survey of Latinos on news media [Data set]. Pew Research Center. https://www.pewresearch.org/hispanic/2004/04/19/changing-channels-and-crisscrossing-cultures/

T: (Suro, 2004)

R: Author, A. A. or Organization. (Year). Title in sentence case and italics (Version number) [Unpublished raw data] or [Unpublished raw data on . . . ]. Source of data. DOI or URL

T: (Author or Organization, year)

R: Carotene, B. (2020). Changing chard and crisscrossing cucumbers [Unpublished raw data]. U.S. Department of Vegetable Statistics.

T: (Carotene, 2020)

R: Carotene, B. (2020). [Unpublished raw data on the benefits of eating vegetables that begin with the letter C]. U.S. Department of Vegetable Statistics. https://www.wallcrust.edu/fiberchunks

T: (Carotene, 2020)

An unpublished data set that is not retrievable by readers is treated as a personal communication and therefore not cited in references.

R: None

T: (Author, A. A., personal communication, full date)

R: None

T: (K. Kanteen, personal communication, December 18, 2019)

Dictionary

Zotero 

R: Organization in Title Case. (n.d.). Entry in sentence case. In Reference work in sentence case and italics. Retrieved full date from URL

T: (Organization, n.d.)

R: Merriam-Webster. (n.d.). Metamorphosis. In Merriam-Webster dictionary. Retrieved July 6, 2017, from https://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/metamorphosis

Encyclopedia

Zotero 

R: Author, A. A. (Year). Title of entry in sentence case. In Title of Reference Work in Title Case and Italics. URL

T: (Author, year)

For an organizational author, format as a dictionary entry (see above).

For a personal author, format as a chapter in an edited book.

R: Stewart, J. I. M. (2019). Rudyard Kipling. In Encyclopedia Britannica. https://www.britannica.com/biography/Rudyard-Kipling

T: (Stewart, 2019)

• Include page numbers in in-text citations when citing quoted material.

R: Department or Organization Name. (Year). Title of fact sheet in sentence case and italics [Fact sheet]. DOI or URL

T (first citation): (Department [Acronym], year)

R: Department of Labor. (2008). The construction industry under the Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA) [Fact sheet]. https://www.dol.gov/agencies/whd/fact-sheets/1-flsa-construction

T (first citation): (Department of Labor [DOL], 2008)

T (subsequent citations): (DOL, 2008)

• Include page numbers in in-text citations when citing quoted material.

R: Name of Company. (Year). Title of handbook in sentence case and italics [Handbook]. DOI or URL

R: Western Spud. (1972). Transmission systems for potatoes (168th ed.) [Handbook]. https://www.spud.org/potato/transmission/grease.html

R: Name of Company. (Year). Title of handbook in sentence case and italics [Handbook].

R: Western Electric. (1985). Transmission systems for communications (3rd ed.) [Handbook].

• Only use indirect sources when the primary source is unavailable. How to cite indirect sources

R: List the indirect source that quotes or discusses the material you are referring to (cite using the appropriate reference-list format for the source type—book, journal article, etc.)

In your text: In your text, identify the primary source using the phrase "as cited in," followed by the indirect source.

or

T: If using a parenthetical citation, cite the primary source first, followed by the phrase "as cited in" and then the indirect source.

R: Nicholson, I. A. M. (2003). Inventing personality: Gordon Allport and the science of selfhood. American Psychological Association.

In your text: We can see this idea in the following passage from Allport’s diary (1926), as cited in Nicholson (2003): " . . . " (p. 36).

or

T:  (Allport, 1926, as cited in Nicholson, 2003, p. 36)

• Include page numbers in in-text citations when citing quoted material.

R: Author, A. A., & Author, B. B. (Year). Title of article in sentence case. Title of Journal in Title Case and Italics, volume in italics(issue number), starting page of article–ending page of article. DOI or URL or Name of Database in Title Case

T: (Author A & Author B, year)

How to cite multiple authors

DOI or URL  Zotero 

R: Sanico, G. F., & Kakinaka, M. (2008). Terrorism and deterrence policy with transnational support. Defence & Peace Economics, 19(2), 153–167. https://doi.org/10.1080/10242690701505419

T: (Sanico & Kakinaka, 2008)

R: Catrantzos, N. (2010). No dark corners: A different answer to insider threats. Homeland Security Affairs, 6(2).  https://www.hsaj.org/articles/83

T: (Catrantzos, 2010)

From library database  Zotero 

R: Giannopoulou, Z. (2014). Prisoners of plot in José Saramago’s The Cave. Philosophy and Literature, 38(2), 332–349. Project MUSE

T: (Giannopoulou, 2014)

R: Author, A. A. (Year). Title of article in sentence case. Title of Journal in Title Case and Italics, volume in italics(issue number), starting page of article–ending page of article.

R: Griffin, G. (2009). Managing peacekeeping communications. Journal of Business Continuity & Emergency Planning, 3(4), 317–327.

T: (Griffin, 2009, pp. 324–325)

• For more information, see Cornell University Law School Legal Information Institute.

R: Abbreviated Bill or Resolution Chamber and Number, xxx Cong., volume Cong. Rec. page (year) (enacted). DOI or URL

T: (Abbreviated Bill or Resolution Chamber and Number, year)

R: S. Res. 438, 114th Cong., 162 Cong. Rec. 2394 (2016) (enacted).

T: (S. Res. 438, 2016)

R: Bill or Resolution Title in Title Case [if present], Abbreviated Bill or Resolution Chamber and Number, xxx Cong. (year). DOI or URL

T: (Bill or Resolution Title in Title Case or Abbreviated Bill or Resolution Chamber and Number, year)

or

In your text: Mention title of bill or resolution (Abbreviated Bill or Resolution Chamber and Number, year)

R: Managed Competition Act of 1992, H.R. 5936, 102nd Cong. (1992). 
https://www.congress.gov/bill/102nd-congress/house-bill/5936/cosponsors?r=254&overview=closed

T: (H.R. 5936, 1992)

R: Every Vote Counts Amendment, H.J. Res. 4, 110th Cong. (2007).

In your text: In the Every Vote Counts Amendment (H.J. Res. 4, 2007), Congress declared . . . 

R: Name of Act in Title Case, title number C.F.R. part number or § section number (year compiled). DOI or URL

R: Renewable Energy Production Incentives, 10 C.F.R. 451 (2006). https://www.govinfo.gov/content/pkg/CFR-2006-title10-vol3/pdf/CFR-2006-title10-vol3.pdf

T: (Renewable Energy Production Incentives, 2006)

R: Title of hearing in sentence case and italics, xxx Cong. (year). DOI or URL

T: (Shortened Title of Hearing in Title Case and Italics, year)

R: Long-term sustainability of current defense plans: Hearing before the Committee on the Budget, House of Representatives, 111th Cong. (2009). https://www.gpo.gov/fdsys/pkg/CHRG-111hhrg47035/pdf/CHRG-111hhrg47035.pdf

T: (Long-term Sustainability, 2009)

R: Title of testimony in sentence case and italics, xxx Cong. (year) (testimony of xxx). DOI or URL

In your text: mention name and credentials/title of testifier.

T: (Shortened Title of Hearing in Title Case and Italics, year)

R: NASA infrastructure: Enabling discovery and ensuring capability, U.S. House Committee on Science, Space, and Technology, Subcommittee on Space, 113th Cong. (2013) (testimony of Paul Martin).  https://www.govinfo.gov/content/pkg/CHRG-113hhrg85276/html/CHRG-113hhrg85276.htm

In your text: NASA inspector general Paul Martin noted in his statement before the House . . .

R: Party Names, Case ID [includes volume number, abbreviated name of the reporter, first page of decision], pages or paragraphs cited (Court Abbreviation and year). DOI or URL

R: Lessard v. Schmidt, 349 F. Supp. 1078, 1092–1104 (E.D. Wis. 1972). https://scholar.google.com/scholar_case?case=16374362071956566586&q
=Lessard+v.+Schmidt&hl=en&as_sdt=2006&as_vis=1

T: (Lessard v. Schmidt, 1972)

R: Party Names, Case ID [includes volume number, abbreviated name of the reporter, first page of decision], pages or paragraphs cited (year). DOI or URL

T: (Party Names in italics, year)

R: Blystone v. Pennsylvania, 494 U.S. 299, 301 (1990). https://supreme.justia.com/cases/federal/us/494/299/

R: Exec. Order No. xxxxx, 3 C.F.R. page number (year compiled). DOI or URL

T: (Executive Order No. xxxxx, year compiled)

R: Exec. Order No. 13655, 3 C.F.R. 339 (2014). 
https://www.govinfo.gov/content/pkg/CFR-2014-title3-vol1/pdf/CFR-2014-title3-vol1.pdf

T: (Executive Order No. 13655, 2014)

R: Exec. Order No. xxxxx, 3 C.F.R. page number (year compiled), reprinted in title number U.S.C. § section number app. at starting page of order–ending page of order (year reprinted).

R: Exec. Order No. 11609, 3 C.F.R. 586 (1971–1975), reprinted as amended in 3 U.S.C. § 301 app. at 404–407 (1994).

R: FAR subpart number, Title of Subpart in Title Case (year). URL

T: (FAR subpart, year)

R: FAR 8.5, Acquisition of Helium (2019). https://www.acquisition.gov/content/subpart-85-acquisition-helium

T: (FAR 8.5, 2019)

R: Title of Act in Title Case, title number U.S.C. § section number (year). DOI or URL

T: (Title of Act in Title Case, year)

R: National Environmental Policy Act, 42 U.S.C. § 4331 (1969).

T: (first citation): (National Environmental Policy Act [NEPA],1969)

T (subsequent citations): (NEPA, 1969)

R: Title of Act in Title Case, Pub. L. No. xxx, volume Source page number (year published). DOI or URL

R: Americans with Disabilities Act of 1990, Pub. L. No. 101–336, 104 Stat. 327 (1990). https://www.govinfo.gov/app/details/STATUTE-104/STATUTE-104-Pg327

T: (Americans with Disabilities Act, 1991)

• Include page numbers in in-text citations when citing quoted material.

R: Title of article in sentence case. (Year, Month [and day if weekly or biweekly]). Title of Magazine in Title Case and Italics, volume in italics(issue number), starting page of article–ending page of article. DOI or URL or Name of Database in Title Case

DOI or URL, No author  Zotero 

R: So long, easy money: Foreign drug firms face a severe profit squeeze. (2014, June 14). The Economist. https://www.economist.com/news/business/21604178-foreign-drug-firms-face-severe-profit-squeeze-so-long-easy-money

T: (“So Long,” 2014)

From library database  Zotero 

R: Katz, F. (2020, January–March). You're grounded for life. Parenting Highlights Quarterly, 112(1), 22–27. ProQuest

T: (Katz, 2020, p. 25)

R: Author, A. A. (Year, Month [and day if weekly or biweekly]). Title of article in sentence case. Title of Magazine in Title Case and Italics, volume in italics(issue number), starting page of article–ending page of article.

T: (Author, year)

R: Beforebad, S. (2017, July 4). Cold spaghetti: To eat or not to eat? Pasta Dynamics, 547(7661), 30–31.

T: (Beforebad, 2017).

R: Google. (n.d.). [Description of map]. Retrieved Month and day, year, from URL

R: Google. (n.d.). [Google Map of Monterey Bay]. Retrieved July 6, 2017, from
 https://www.google.com/maps/
place/Monterey+Bay/@36.7896106,-122.0843052,11z/
data=!3m1!4b1!4m5!3m4!1s0x808e0ccfc5859dfd:
0x124654a608855d43!8m2!3d36.8007413!4d-121.947311

T: (Google, n.d.)

R: Director, B. B. (Director). (Year). Title of film in sentence case and italics [Film]. Production Company. DOI or URL

R: Dick, K. (Director). (2012). The invisible war [Film]. Chain Camera Pictures. https://www.amazon.com/Invisible-War-Helen-Benedict/dp/B009G9YCB4

R: McBracket, D. (Host). (2020, January 7). Taking the sigh out of citation (No. 846) [Audio podcast episode]. In Team Citation presents. Komodo Studios. https://www.komodo-studios.com/
podcasts/10486/firstnamelastlastnamefirst.html

T: (McBracket, 2020)

• Use the leading word “the” when referencing newspaper names in list of references (The New York Times, not New York Times).
• Include page numbers in in-text citations when citing quoted material.

R: Author, A. A. (Full date). Title of article in sentence case. Title of Newspaper in Title Case and Italics. DOI or URL or Name of Database in Title Case

T: (Author, year)

DOI or URL, Author given  Zotero 

R: Brody, J. E. (2007, December 11). Mental reserves keep brains agile. The New York Times. https://www.nytimes.com/2007/12/11/health/11brod.html

T: (Brody, 2007)

DOI or URL, No author  Zotero 

R: Toxic algae in San Luis Reservoir prompts warning from state. (2017, June 30). Monterey Herald. https://www.montereyherald.com/environment-and-nature/20170630/toxic-algae-in-san-luis-reservoir-prompts-warning-from-state

T: ("Toxic Algae," 2017)

From library database  Zotero 

R: Gordon, M. R. (2001, December 9). Shifting fronts, rising danger: The Afghanistan War evolves. The New York Times, ProQuest

T: (Gordon, 2001)

R: Inventor, A. A. (Year issued). Title of patent in sentence case and italics (U.S. Patent No. xxxxxx). U.S. Patent and Trademark Office. DOI or URL

T: (Inventor, year issued)

R: Bell, A. G. (1876). Improvement in telegraphy (U.S. Patent No. 174465A). U.S. Patent and Trademark Office. https://www.google.com/patents/US174465

T: (Bell, 1876)

• Cite in text only.
• Personal communication is material obtained directly from a person, organization, or other source that your typical readers will be unable to access.
• A source should be cited as a personal communication when there is no direct, reliable path for your readers to retrieve the information. Examples include phone calls, conversations, letters, emails, files attached to an email Including attachments, internal documents, documents posted to a listserv or internal server, or any unpublished source to which your readers have no access.
• If a personal name is not given, include an occupation or position instead. Example: (lieutenant commander, USN, personal communication, April 11, 2022).

R: None

T: Include sender's name, email to author, Full date of email)

R: None

T: (Q. Grumbupple, email to author, October 22, 1994)

or

R: None

T: Include name and title of interviewee as well as full date of interview.

R: None

T: (S. Jones, Director of . . . , interview with author, June 1, 2012)

or

In your text: According to Sandi Jones, Director of . . . (interview with author, June 1, 2012)

R: None

T: Include person's name, personal communication, Full date of communication

R: None

T: (J. Smith, personal communication, September 8, 2009)

or

In your text: According to Rebecca Risotto (personal communication, September 8, 2009)

R: Photographer, P. P. (Year). Title of photograph in sentence case and italics or [Description of photograph in sentence case]. Source. URL

T: (Photographer, year)

R: Harrison, T. (2018). [Kenya Defense Force's 1st Canine Regiment]. Military.com. https://www.military.com/off-duty/2018/12/30/best-military-photos-2018.html

T: (Harrison, 2018)

• An official report is freestanding and should have publisher and/or copyright information. If it is not freestanding, then format it as a webpage.
• Include page numbers in in-text citations when citing quoted material.

R: Author, A. A., Author, B. B., . . . Author, Z. Z. or Organization. (year). Title of report in sentence case and italics (document identification number). Publisher or Organization. DOI or URL

T: (Author et al. or Organization, year)

How to cite multiple authors

R: Dixon, L., Clancy, N., Miller, B. M., Hoegberg, S., Lewis, M. M., Bender, B., . . . Choquette, S. R. (2017). The cost and affordability of flood insurance in New York City (Report No. RR1776-NYCEDC). RAND. https://www.rand.org/pubs/research_reports/RR1776.html

R: Author, A. A. (Year). Title of technical report in sentence case and italics (document identification number). Publisher or Organization. URL

T: (Author, year)

How to cite multiple authors

R: Tang, K. L., & Eignor, D. R. (2001). A study in the use of collateral statistical information in attempting to reduce TOEFL IRT item parameter estimation sample sizes (Report Nos. RR-01-11, TOEFL-TR-17). ETS. https://www.ets.org/research/policy_research_reports/
publications/report/2001/hsfb

R: Organizational Author. (Year). Title of technical report in sentence case and italics (document identification number). Publisher or Parent Organization [if different from organizational author]. DOI or URL

R: National Toxicology Program. (2012). Toxicology and carcinogenesis studies of trimethylolpropane triacrylate (technical grade) in F344/N rats and B6C3F1/N mice (dermal studies) (Report No. TR-576). National Institutes of Health. https://ntp.niehs.nih.gov/go/tr576abs

T (first citation): (National Toxicology Program [NTP], 2012)

T (subsequent citations): (NTP, 2012)

R: Author, A. A. (Year). Title of technical report in sentence case and italics (document identification number). Publisher or Organization.

T: (Author, year)

R: Jones, K. A., & Johnson, F. (2015). The absorption rate of E. coli in cats (Report No. 17-59). Veterinary Studies. 

T: (Jones & Johnson, 2015)

R: Author, A. A. or Organization or Screen Name [handle]. (Full date). Title of post or up to 20 words of the post in sentence case and italics or [Description of post in sentence case]. [Type of post]. Platform. URL

T: (Author or Organization or Screen
Name, year)

Instagram  Zotero 

R: Babygiraffe [@babygiraffehaslastlaugh]. (2020, January 7). Mocking those visiting the zoo [Video]. Instagram. https://instagram.com/p/s340[jafmOujejl

T: (Babygiraffe, 2020)

Twitter  Zotero 

R: Enginewarmup [@owl-pellets]. (2020, January 7). Follow the rules when shortening tweets [Tweet]. Twitter.  https://twitter.com/owl-pellets/mouse-parts128987899

T: (Enginewarmup, 2020)

• Include page numbers in in-text citations when citing quoted material.

R: List the source that quotes or reprints the speech you are referring to (cite using the appropriate reference-list format for the source type—book, journal article, etc.)

R: Smith, J. (Ed.). (2009). Well said! Great speeches in American history. E & K Publishing.

• Include page numbers in in-text citations when citing quoted material.

R: Author, A. A. (Year). Title of thesis/dissertation in sentence case and italics (Identification number) [Type of document, Name of Institution]. Name of Database in Title Case

T: (Author, year)

R: Choi, M. (2008). Contesting imaginaires in death rituals during the Northern Song Dynasty (Publication No. 3300426) [Doctoral dissertation, University of Chicago]. ProQuest Dissertations and Theses Global

T: (Choi, 2008)

R: Author, A. A. (Year). Title of thesis/dissertation in sentence case and italics [Type of document, Name of Institution]. Name of Institutional Archive. DOI or URL

T: (Author, year)

Dissertation  Zotero 

R: Rivera, J. (2010). Software system architecture modeling methodology for naval gun weapon systems [Doctoral dissertation, Naval Postgraduate School]. NPS Archive: Calhoun. https://calhoun.nps.edu/handle/10945/10504

T: (Rivera, 2010)

Thesis  Zotero 

R: Moon, T. D. (2009). Rising dragon: Infrastructure development and Chinese influence in Vietnam [Master’s thesis, Naval Postgraduate School]. NPS Archive: Calhoun. https://calhoun.nps.edu/handle/10945/4694

T: (Moon, 2009)

• Include page numbers in in-text citations when citing quoted material.
• Unpublished works include work that is in progress, has been completed but not yet submitted for publication, or has been submitted but not yet accepted for publication.

R: Author, A. A. (in press). Title of article in sentence case. Title of Journal in Title Case and Italics, volume in italics(issue number). DOI or URL

R: Briscoe, R. (in press). Egocentric spatial representation in action and perception. Philosophy and Phenomenological Research. http://cogprints.org/5780/1/ECSRAP.F07.pdf

T: (Briscoe, in press)

R: Author, A. A. (Year produced). Title of manuscript in sentence case and italics [Unpublished manuscript].

T: (Author, year)

R: Horse, B. B. (1995). Back in the saddle [Unpublished manuscript].

T: (Horse, 1995)

R: Author, A. A. (Year produced). Title of work in sentence case and italics [Manuscript submitted for publication]. DOI or URL

T: (Author, year)

R: Horse, B. B. (1996). Back in the saddle 2: Back in the saddle [Manuscript submitted for publication]. https://horse.com/bits2bits

T: (Horse, 1996)

• Title of website rarely includes ".com"—for example, BBC online is "BBC," not "BBC.com."
• Italicize newspaper names, not names of news organizations—for example, The New York Times, not Reuters, Bloomberg, CNN, etc. These news organizations only have an online presence, whereas The New York Times has both an online and print counterpart.
• If additional information is necessary for identification and retrieval of a reference, it may be included in brackets immediately after the title and any parenthetical information.
• When citing a direct quotation from a website without page numbers, include as much information as needed for the reader to locate the material. A direct quotation might provide chapter number, section heading, and paragraph number within the section only if available.

R: Author, A. A. (Full date). Title, section, or page name in sentence case and italics. Website Name in Title Case. URL

T: (Author, year, locator)

R: Roth, R. (2017, April 18). 75 years ago, the Doolittle Raid changed history. CNN. https://www.cnn.com/2017/04/18/us/75th-anniversary-doolittle-raid/index.html

T: (Roth, 2017, para. 2)

R: Organization. (Full date). Title, section, or page name in sentence case and italics. URL

T: (Organization, year)

R: Federal Bureau of Investigation. (2017, April 6). Forging papers to sell fake art. https://www.fbi.gov/news/stories/forging-papers-to-sell-fake-art

T (first citation): (Federal Bureau of Investigation [FBI], 2017)

T (subsequent citations): (FBI, 2017)

R: Author, A. A. or Organization. (n.d.). Title, section, or page name in sentence case and italics. Website Name in Title Case. Retrieved full date, from URL

R: Python, M. (n.d.). Finding a dead parrot on a silly walk. Ministry of Silly Walks. Retrieved January 7, 2020, from https://www.omgitsadeadparrot.com/feathers

T: (Python, n.d.)

R: Janes. (Year). Title, section, or page name in sentence case and italics. URL

T: (Janes, year)

R: Janes. (2020). Mali: Executive summary. https://customer.janes.com/

T: (Janes, 2020)

• Wikipedia is not normally an accepted source in academia; please ask your instructor or advisor.

R: Title of entry in sentence case. (n.d.). In Title of Reference Work in Title Case and Italics. Retrieved full date, from URL

T: ("Title of entry," n.d.)

R: Psychology. (n.d.). In Wikipedia. Retrieved May 17, 2011, from https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Psychology

T: (“Psychology,” n.d.)