Quick Tips: Finding More Articles by Citation Analysis using Google Scholar
The video covers the following concepts:
- Finding articles using the Cited By tool in Google Scholar
Searching for Full Text
If you come across a citation to an article and you'd like to track down its full text, follow the steps below:
- Start Your Research (SYR)
1. When searching for the full text of an article, start by searching the "title of an article" (enclosed in "quotation marks") in SYR.
"review of adverse childhood experiences as factors influential to biopsychosocial"
- Periodical List (PL)
2. If you're unable to locate the fulltext by searching the article title in SYR, next try searching the "journal title" in PL, which is a searchable list of print/online journals accessible through the University Libraries.
- Interlibrary Loan (ILL)
3. If the Library does not have print/online access to a journal you need an article from, request a copy of the article via ILL.
FINDING MORE ARTICLES
There are a couple of ways to find additional articles:
1. Check the Bibliography of articles relevant to your research.
2. Citation Analysis (Citation Chasing)
Citation Chasing
Citation Chasing involves finding articles that have cited an article of interest. There are a multiple databases that provide citation analysis of articles:
1. Google Scholar
2. Web of Science
3. Additional Citation Analysis Databases
*It's a good idea to search multiple sources that offer citation analysis as no single source will know the exact amount of articles that have cited another article.
Citation Chasing using Google Scholar
1. Access Google Scholar on the Databases page.
2. Search for the title of the original article (or do a keyword search).
3. On the results page, click the "Cited by" link underneath the description of the article(s).
4. The results list will consist of articles that cited the original article.
Citation Chasing using Web of Science
1. Access the database Web of Science on the Databases page.
2. Do a title search for the article title (you can also do a topic search if you don't have a specific article identified).
3. On the results page, click the Citations link to retrieve a list of articles that have cited the original article.
