Texas State Career Services
General Online Resources
Career OneStop - A comprehensive website for students and job seekers to explore career options, perform self-assessments on skills and interests, write resumes and cover letters, prepare for interviews, and search for jobs.
Films on Demand - Video collections include Career & Job Search, Technical Education, Guidance & Counseling, Family & Consumer Science and a growing collection of individually selected titles in various fields.
Job Accelerator Database - Personalized, step-by-step job search assistance—from exploring and matching suitable occupations from over 1,000 detailed occupation profiles to finding available jobs. Create professional and effective resumes and cover letters, master interviewing and networking techniques, improve your work skills, and prepare for occupation-related exams.
LiveCareer - Tips and tools for finding a career after college.
Occupational Outlook Handbook - Nationally recognized career handbook provides information about the training and education needed, earnings, expected job prospects, what workers do on the job, and working conditions.
Onet - research detailed descriptions of the world of work for use by job seekers.
Additional Resources
Find an Employer
Reference Solutions - use this database to look up employers.
Getting into Graduate School
Graduate School Information contains information on which schools offer what programs.
LearningExpress Library take practice tests like the GRE, GMAT and more on line.
Job Interview
Selected Books and eBooks
Careers in Healthcare and Beyond by
According to the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, some of the fastest projected job growth will occur in the healthcare, healthcare support and personal care fields which accounts for almost one third of the total employment growth by 2020. Analysts suggest that the healthcare field is growing because of the long-term trends of an aging population and improved diagnosing and treatment options. Additionally, technology advances in telemedicine and telehealth are allowing elderly patients to remain in their homes as they age even though their health needs are increasing. All these advances and changes to payment structures are fueling the employment growth opportunities in healthcare. This book is intended for someone curious to learn more about a career in healthcare, but not certain if it is right for them, or if the industry would be a good fit for them. For the person who is already interested in pursuing a career in healthcare, it provides added excitement to continue on this path. For the person who is less certain, it explores in a narrative format, the unique opportunities that are available in healthcare, and career options that are not obvious to the general public. It is designed to provide added insights and stories that will inspire one to learn more about the field of healthcare and the many opportunities to consider. It will encourage readers to explore ways to gain hands-on experience to determine what is the best approach for them to take to start this journey. This book is also intended for those who currently work in healthcare but may be considering a different job in the field.
ISBN: 9781315222684Publication Date: 2021-07-28
Healthcare Support Workers by
NHS support workers, such as nursing Healthcare Assistants, Maternity Support Workers, and Therapy Assistants, often provide the majority of face-to-face care to patients, clients and their families. This accessible guide explores the issues underpinning their recruitment, training, management, development and progression. NHS support workers comprise four out of ten of the clinical workforce, yet despite their importance they have long faced barriers that mean they are not able to fully realise their potential. This is the first book to take a comprehensive look at this workforce, its history, the policy that shapes its recruitment, management and deployment, and explains clearly how their capacity and capability can be safely and effectively enhanced. Structured around the employment cycle, this text covers the introduction of Technical Levels, career changes, apprenticeships, recruitment and selection, informal learning, learning cultures, widening participation, supervision and functional skills. Providing practical, evidence-based guidance and including illustrative case studies, it suggests a range of interventions to overcome the long-standing barriers to the effective development and deployment of healthcare support workers. Drawing on the latest research, and practice, including the author's own experience, this book is an important resource for all those educating, managing or recruiting unregistered healthcare practitioners. It will also provide invaluable guidance to healthcare support workers interested in progressing their careers.
ISBN: 9781003251620Publication Date: 2022-08-26
Sustainability at work : careers that make a difference by
Summary: "Sustainability at Work is a compelling guide for anyone who seeks both a successful career and a career that makes a positive difference in society. Containing career advice of great value to students and professionals, and explaining how one can integrate sustainability into future roles, this book's appeal extends well beyond those well versed in sustainability thinking. The text includes an easy-to-follow structure, the SURF Framework, that anyone wondering how they can make a difference in the workplace can apply. In this thoroughly revised new edition, Marilyn Waite builds upon recent career trends to include two all-important themes that are redefining sustainability: justice, equity, diversity, and inclusion and climate-related career pathways. In addition, practical advice for finding and creating roles that correspond to one's preferences and purpose is elaborated. The book explains how real people in a plethora of sectors can have a positive impact on people and planet. Professionals from a variety of backgrounds and locations explain how they brought a sustainability approach to various sectors, including agriculture, business, economics, and financial services, education and research, entertainment and media, health care, law and policy, and science and technology. The breadth of stories covers individuals working on five continents in various levels of responsibility. Through inspiring narratives and a structured framework, Sustainability at Work illustrates how sustainability can be incorporated into every imaginable career to impact the quadruple bottom line: environment, economy, society, and future generations"-- Provided by publisher.
ISBN: 9781040043998Publication Date: 2024
Your Healthcare Job Hunt by
Did you know that more than half of employers won't hire a candidate who doesn't have an online presence, and most companies are using social media to screen job applicants? Healthcare job seekers - from new graduates to seasoned professionals - need to know how to successfully achieve their career aspirations in a highly digitized job market. >Your Healthcare Job Hunt: How Your Digital Presence Can Make or Break Your Career focuses on getting the most out of the internet during a healthcare job search. With colorful, evocative examples specific to the field, this book covers information, tools, and online resources that can help you stand out and maximize your career advancement opportunities. Topics covered include: Creating a digital presence that accurately reflects your career goals, professionalism, and skills Exploring the ins and outs of digital self-branding Using online tools and social media sites to find potential employers and job openings Optimizing job sites such as LinkedIn and Indeed Mastering online interviews and resumes Networking and mentoring in the digital environment A professional online presence is essential to career advancement. If you are ready to put forward your best online self and pair your online persona with your offline career aspirations, then this book is a must-read.
ISBN: 9781640551756Publication Date: 2020-06-30
