Microfilm & Print Collection
Print/Microfilm Collections
Microfilm, microfiche, and print journals and magazines published after 1980 are located on the 3rd floor.
Print Journals and magazines published before 1980 are shelved by call number on floors 5-6.
Periodical List
- Periodical List
You can search for a specific journal/magazine/newspaper title using Periodical List.
LinkSource checks our other databases to find a copy of your article in one of our other databases. Sometimes you'll see this image:
Drama Research Databases
Suggested Databases for Criticism and Reviews
Indexes, abstracts, and provides limited full text coverage of periodicals covering art, antiques, archaeology, architecture, art history, computers in art, crafts, decorative arts, fashion design, folk art, graphics art, motion pictures, musicology, painting, photography, sculpture, textiles, TV, and related topics.
Art Index Retrospective is a bibliographic database that cumulates citations to Art Index volumes 1-32 of the printed index published between 1929-1984. The database cites articles from periodicals published throughout the world.
Film & Television Literature Index
Film & Television Literature Index is a comprehensive bibliographic database covering the entire spectrum of television and film writing. Subject coverage includes film & television theory, preservation & restoration, writing, production, cinematography, technical aspects, and reviews.
Refers to articles and book reviews in over 290 periodicals in the humanities (dating as far back as 1984). Topics include theology, religion, performing arts, literary and political criticism, language and literature, philosophy, history, and classical studies. Available via the Library web with some full-text coverage.
JSTOR is a collection of full-text scholarly journals covering varied subject areas. JSTOR provides photo images of articles and typically covers journals beginning with their first volume to fairly recent volumes (but never the 'latest' volumes). Full-text display is photo image, instead of plain text. Available via the Library web.
Access to literary biographies and criticism, covering more than 90,000 novelists, poets, essayists, journalists, and other writers. Includes several major Gale publications such as: Dictionary of Literary Biography, Contemporary Literary Criticism, Contemporary Authors, and many more Gale publications. Available via the Library web.
MLA International Bibliography
Lists references to descriptive literature and current scholarship in linguistics, modern languages, literature, and folklore. Citations go as far back as 1926. Indexes approximately 3,000 literary journals and books. Available through the Library web.
World Shakespeare Bibliography Online
Annotated entries for all important books, articles, book reviews, dissertations, theatrical productions, reviews of productions, audiovisual materials, electronic media, and other scholarly and popular materials related to Shakespeare and published or produced between 1971 and early 2002.
ILL - TexShare
- Interlibrary Loan (ILL)ILL is a free library lending service available to current TxState students and employees. ILL borrows items from other libraries that the Alkek Library does not own. Use ILLIAD, the online interlibrary loan request system, to order your ILL items. Typical turnaround for a book is 1-2 weeks and must be picked up at and returned to the library. Articles are sent to requestors via email.
Contact & Pick-up Info: 512.408.3996 or email. Items can be picked up at the Ask Alkek Desk on the 2nd floor of the Library.
- TexShareA TexShare card is free for all current Texas State students and employees and provides borrowing privileges at participating libraries.