| Google Scholar
Google Scholar can be a useful tool when collecting research information. Settings can be updated to display:
Library Links - FindIt@Txstate
Bibliography Manager - EndNote (refers to Desktop EndNote)
- Ulrich'sTo find out if a journal is considered Refereed/Peer-Reviewed, check the Ulrich's database by doing a search for the title of the journal. Many library databases allow searches to be limited to articles published in Peer-Reviewed journals.
Web Image Databases and Art Web Sites
It is not necessary to have a subscription to get in to these Web sites to see what they have. Many of these sites sell the image so be very careful how you use the image.
International Architecture Database. This database for international architecture, originally emerging from records of interesting building projects from architecture students, has meanwhile become the largest online-database about worldwide architects and buildings from past to present. This database includes information over more than 21000 built and unrealized projects from various architects and planners. The architecture of the 20th century is the main theme of this database. It's possible to look for a special project via an architect, town or keyword with the indices or by using a query form. For most entries you get the name, address, keywords and information about further literature. Some entries include images, comments, links to other Websites or internal links.
The vast majority of the artists in this database specialize in painting and sculpture. Artistic media is included when possible. Examples of these types of media are: photography, decorative arts, installation art, video, digital/web-based art, naïve art/folk art/outsider art, and architecture.
Facilitating art historical and other arts research on the Internet; provides access to search engines, mailing lists, newsgroups, library catalogs, art collections, and other art-related web sites.
Art History Resources on the Web
Professor Christopher Witcombe from Sweet Briar College has put together a page of art history links including prehistoric art up through contemporary art. He also has links that divide the art by region. There are links to research resources and other miscellaneous useful art links.
Art Images for College Teaching
Free use resource for art images, mostly architecture but includes some painting and sculpture. These are “image copies that are the copyrighted property of Art Historian and photographer Allan T. Kohl (unless otherwise credited), are licensed for non-profit use as set forth” in their licensing information. It grants permission to use the images “freely and without further authorization in conjunction with educational activities such as teaching, research and scholarly publication.
Virtual catalog for art history. Formerly known as the Virtueller Katalog. Provides access to over 8 million bibliographic records for periodicals, conference papers, festschriften, auction catalogues, exhibition catalogues and much more. Along with the catalogues of The Metropolitan Museum of Art's Thomas J. Watson Library and the Getty Research Institute Research Library, Arcade is one of only three U.S. library catalogues included in this international search portal for the discovery of art resources.
This is a network of resources on Art and Architecture; includes links to other art-related web sites as well as original materials submitted by librarians, artists, art historians, and others.
This is a useful image directory. “The Artists Bluebook”. Extensive information about 32,000 artists.
Copyright protected, for sale images. Some are royalty-free. You need a subscription to acquire these images, but you can always just look for inspiration.
Encyclopedia Smithsonian: Art & Design
Browse the image gallery, ask Joan of Art a question, look through the archives of American Art, or browse the many Smithsonian art collections.
Getty Research Institute for the Arts and Humanities
A great place for conducting research on contemporary and modern artists.
Great for when you just need a simple image fast for a paper or collage. But remember it is the Web so the resolution is usually very small so the quality of the image is not that great. Also, if you plan to publish or display the image you use, you should contact the person who made the image to make sure it is OK. Many images on the Web are copyrighted.
Image Collections and Online Art
Website of websites for art image resources, by geographic area Africa, the Americas, Asia, Europe, type or medium and collections in museums and galleries. This was produced by the University of Michigan Art History dept.
Library of Congress-Prints and Photographs Online Catalog
The Prints & Photographs Online Catalog (PPOC) provides access to photographs, fine and popular prints and drawings, posters, and architectural and engineering drawings. While international in scope, the collections are particularly rich in materials produced in, or documenting the history of, the United States and the lives, interests and achievements of the American people.--about 14 million digital images in all. Not all images are in public domain and if you are going to use them for publishing you need to determine if copyright restrictions apply. The main Library of Congress page, offers a wealth of other types of cultural and educational resources as inspiration for any artist.
New York Public Library Digital Gallery
NYPL Digital Gallery provides access to over 300,000 images digitized from primary sources and printed rarities in the collections of The New York Public Library, including illuminated manuscripts, historical maps, vintage posters, rare prints and photographs, illustrated books, printed ephemera, and more. Choose from subject areas including arts, literature, cities, buildings, culture, society, history, geography, industry, technology, nature, science, printing and graphics.
This is accessed free, but it sells you the images, so you really can’t use them except to look at them online. It is all images of New York, including some LIFE magazine photos, but all of this is copyrighted
This website includes a “Search Oeuvre Catalogue” where you can type in the name of an artist and it will cite sources for their print works only, especially print catalogues raisonne. You would then have to check our online catalog. If we don’t own, request via interlibrary loan.
Smithsonian Collections Search Center
The Collections Search Center provides easy "one-stop searching" of more than 2 million of the Smithsonian's museum, archives, library and research holdings and collections. The access to more Smithsonian collections via this Search Center is increasing over time.
Turning the Pages™ from the British Library
Great collection of books and manuscripts from the British Library with wonderful image resolution and audio. You actually see the original book and get to turn the pages.
The UT Fine Arts Library has extensive information on their Web Site about art history research. They also have links to museum Websites. You can also search the catalog and use their print resources using your Texshare card. Be aware that fines are incurred on overdue material.
Focuses on humanities research, including art, art history, photography, classical studies, architecture and many other art-related disciplines.
The Web site is under copyright, but Alkek Library has permission for its students and faculty to use for academic and scholarly purposes, including publishing. Excellent collection of European and particularly Renaissance art. Once you get to a work, there are thumbnail prints, but when you click on the image, it will blow it up in size. Increases from 25% to 200%. Image quality is excellent and most images have an "i" icon which indicates they have some narrative regarding the image.
