Finance and Economics: Advanced Searching

Annual Reviews

Yearly reviews of the significant research in most subjects.

Tools for Long Term Research

Manage your information gathering for long-term research projects such as dissertations, theses, and semester long papers easier and more efficiently with database tools such as journal alerts, and citation management software.

Alternative Access to Journals

Discover more ways to get the articles you need for your research!

Linking to Articles & Other Resources

Learn how to link to articles and other resources in the library's databases to put in Canvas, bibliographies, or syllabi, share via email, or save in your browser.

Research Hacks:

Citation Analysis Databases  Choose a citation analysis database to see the most influential articles in a field.

Credo Alkek reference source for ideas on keywords and background information.

Dissertations and Theses Full Text (read PHDs and Master's Degrees for style, content and their bibliographies)

E-Reference Sources at Alkek Library full list of our e-reference resources: full-text subject encyclopedias and dictionaries

Oxford Reference Alkek reference source for ideas on keywords and background information

Periodical List Look up your journal citation and see which database has it.

WorldCat - Every book in the world, even if we don't have it. Request through Interlibrary loan.

Usually, the most cited articles in a field are the most influential.

Go to an Citation Analysis database (different ones for different disciplines). 

Then go to Periodical List to look up your journal citation and see which database has it.

Have a lot of citations you want to enter in your works cited/references list? Try a citation manager.

Do you need the Web or Desktop version?

• Organize your research Include citations while you write your paper
• Build a bibliography in a variety of formats
• Import references from library databases and Google Scholar.